Eilean Donan Castle


Stephen and Yhana is the official You Tube channel for this blog (The Lives of my Ancestors) and author (Stephen Robert Kuta), a shared adventure with his daughter.
Featuring: Days Out in the UK / History / Genealogy / Virtual Walks / Virtual Cycling / Travel and so much more. Feel free to visit, subscribe and watch out for all of our upcoming episodes.

An Official Video from author: Stephen Robert Kuta / via channel Stephen and Yhana

How you can easily create beautiful art for your home or your loved ones by Peter Black, founder of – Charmaché Art and Craft

Charmaché Art and Craft

If I were to compare all of my ancestry or my known DNA or even the countries and many places that make up my family story, than Scotland would probably top the bill each and every time.

My Scottish heritage is one that I am most proud of. My mother carries 37% Scottish DNA, even though, mathematically it should only be 12.5%.

I have travelled to Scotland many times, and each time feels like I’m home. There is something inviting, something magical about The Land O’ Haggis, Whisky, and Bagpipes.

I would find it hard to choose a Scottish location, a loch, or a castle which stands out most of all. Most Scottish locations are simply breathtaking, there are a few castle’s however that I have always admired and one of these is Eilean Donan Castle.

Eilean Donan Castle is one of Scotland’s most beautiful,The castle was founded in the thirteenth century, and became a stronghold of the Clan Mackenzie and their allies the Clan Macrae. 

Eilean Donan (Scottish Gaelic: Eilean Donnain) is a small tidal island where three lochs meet, Loch Duich, Loch Long and Loch Alsh, and is located in the western Highlands of Scotland.

If it wasn’t for my interest in genealogy and twenty years of research, I would never have known that Eilean Donan Castle was an old ancestral home and the last of my ancestors to be associated with the castle was Lady Jean Mackenzie (1640 – 1674), my 10th great-grandmother who I also share DNA with. Her ancestors resided here for four hundred years, and I can trace my family and their connection to Eilean Donan back too at least 1220 A.D.

 

3 thoughts on “Eilean Donan Castle

  1. I don’t know how many sum-total Scottish ancestors I have — they’re mostly way-backs, I believe — but, my Norsk side does, per one Norwegian historian & genealogist, take me back to Matilda (Edith) of Scotland as a 26th Great-Grandmum, wife of English King Henry I Beauclerc and, daughter of my 27th great-grands William I the Conqueror & Matilda of Flanders… 😉 So, HELLO, Shirttail Cousin! 😉 😀

  2. An interesting piece. I have, as far as I can tell, absolutely no Scottish heritage, unless there is an echo in some of the 50 or so percent of my DNA that is from Great Britain, but I also have a sense of belonging when in northern Scotland – I even find some unaccountable empathy with those evicted in the Clearances. And I like Scottish sports people to do well. Maybe my Brown kin are descended frae “Broon”? Slainte!

Leave a comment