Y-DNA Haplogroup – I-S17250 – Slavic DNA / Cucuteni–Trypillia culture

Welcome back to my channel everyone and thank you for joining me.

This is the tenth video in my origins series, which explores family history research and several of the Haplogroups that exist in my ancestry including my paternal and maternal genetic groups. The series includes a few How to videos, including How to begin researching your family history, how to get past those early parish records, break down walls and how to publish your family history.

 These are all videos planned over the coming weeks, so if any of the subjects interest you, then please keep watch for those upcoming videos. This series of videos goes live every Monday at 12 Noon British Standard Time.

 Todays video takes a look at my 2x great-grandfather – Theodorus Fedyszyn paternal Y-DNA Haplogroup.

 A group called I-S17250, The age of this mutation is estimated at roughly only 1,800  years – This group is a subclade of 12a1b which was a patriarch line of two separate subclades – L161.1 and L621.

For the purpose of this video it is the L621 Line that we are interested in and the one we will focus on in this video.

The following chart shows the Phylogenetic Tree of Haplogroup I2.

You will see on the chart that Haplogroup L621, Falls within the Mesolithic Period and as we follow that lineage down you will see that S17250, is one of three subclades that belong to CTS10228.

S17250 is a Slavic Haplogroup that broke away during the Iron age period.

Haplogroup I2a1b-L621 This branch is found overwhelmingly in Slavic countries. Its maximum frequencies are observed among the Dinaric Slavs (Slovenes, Croats, Bosniaks, Serbs, Montenegrins and Macedonians) as well as in Bulgaria, Romania, Moldavia, western Ukraine and Belarus. It is also common to a lower extent in Albania, Greece, Hungary, Slovakia, Poland, and south-western Russia. I2-L621 is also known as I2a-Din (for Dinaric). The high concentration of I2a1b-L621 in north-east Romania, Moldova and central Ukraine reminds of the maximum spread of the Cucuteni-Trypillian culture (4800-3000 BCE). No Y-DNA sample from this culture has been tested to date, but as it evolved as an offshoot from the Starčevo–Kőrös–Criş culture, it is likely that I2a was one of its main paternal lineages, and a founder effect could have increased considerably its frequency. The Cucuteni-Trypillian culture was the most advanced Neolithic cultures in Europe before the Indo-European invasions in the Bronze Age and seems to have had intensive contacts with the Steppe culture. From 3500 BCE, at the onset of the Yamna period in the Pontic-Caspian Steppe, the Cucuteni-Trypillian people started expanding east into the steppe of what is now western Ukraine, leaving their towns (the largest in the world at the time), and adopting an increasingly nomadic lifestyle like their Yamna neighbours. It can easily be imagined that Cucuteni-Trypillian people became assimilated by the Yamna neighbours and that they spread as a minority lineage alongside haplogroups R1a and R1b as they advanced toward the Baltic with the Corded Ware expansion. Alternatively, I2-L621 lineages could have lived in relative isolation from the mainstream Proto-Indo-European society somewhere around Ukraine, Poland or Belarus, then as the centuries and millennia passed, would have blended with the predominantly R1a populations around them. The resulting amalgam would have become the ancestors of the Proto-Slavs. Nowadays, I2a1 is five to ten times more common than G2a in Southeast Europe, while during the Neolithic period G2a was approximately four times more common. What can explain this complete reversal? At one point in history, I2a1 lineages seem to have benefited from being on the winning side. Apart from a minor boost from (possibly) joining Yamna’s westward expansion to Europe, the principal determining event that allowed I2a1b-L621 to become a major Eastern European lineage was probably the Slavic migrations from the 6th to the 9th century CE. Most modern Eastern Europeans belonging to I2a1b fit into the CTS10228 subclade, which is thought to have arisen 5,600 years ago (just before the Yamna period and the Trypillian expansion into the steppe).

The minority of I2a1b-L621 individuals negative for CTS10228 are all found around eastern Poland, Belarus and western Ukraine, suggesting that this is where this lineage survived since the Chalcolithic. The I2a1b-CTS10228 subclade seems to have expanded very fast from 1900 years ago, which is concordant with the timing of the Slavic ethnogenesis, considering that it takes a few centuries before one man can have enough male descendants to start having an impact at the scale of a (small but fast-growing) population. After Germanic tribes living in eastern Germany and Poland, like the Goths, the Vandals and the Burgundians, invaded the Roman Empire, the Slavs from further east filled the vacuum. Following the collapse of the Western Roman Empire in 476, the Slavs moved in the Dinaric Alps and the Balkans. By the 9th century the Slavs occupied all modern Slavic-speaking territories, apart from the eastern Balkans under the control of the Turkic-speaking Bulgars. Nowadays northern Slavic countries have between 9% (Poland, Czech republic) and 21% (Ukraine) of I2a-L621, while southern Slavs have between 20% (Bulgaria) and 50% (Bosnia). The higher percentage of I2a-Din in the south is probably just due to another founder effect due to the fact that the South Slavs originated in western Ukraine, where the ratio of I2a to R1a was higher. Virtually all Dinaric I2a falls under the CTS10228 subclade, and the majority to the S17250 ramification, who descend from a common patrilinear ancestor who lived only 1,800 years ago.

So this Haplogroup is by far the youngest we have studied in these videos, The connection with Trypillian culture is also of big interest to me, as I have an interest in that particular culture and have a couple of items in my collection made by that ancient group of people, they include a flint sickle, shown here in this photograph and my favourite of all a Trypillian culture ceramic bowl.

In all probability these two items were made by my long forgotten ancestors.

The Cucuteni-Trypillia culture was a Neolithic Eastern European culture that existed between 5500 – 2750 BCE.

In my own lineage – 

I can trace my Fedyszyn line back to my 5th great-grandfather – Theodorus Fedyszyn of Komarno, Eastern Galicia who was born in 1774 and died 1841 in Piaski, Komarno

This is a lineage I have a DNA Match with to, in regard to my autosomal DNA – Which covers all of your ancestors.

My ancestors in this line includes the known patriarch of the family – 

My 5th great-grandfather Theodorus born 1774

My 4th great-grandfather Basilius Fedyszyn born in 1800

My 3rd great-grandfather Joannes Fedyszyn born in 1838

My 2x great-grandfather Theodorus Fedyszyn born in 1858

And my great-grandmother Katarzyna Fedyszyn born in 1899 – Off cause Katarzyna would not carry the Y-DNA, as this marker is not traceable in women. But her male ancestors do descend from the Haplogroup.

 I have a couple more Haplogroup videos coming up in this series, and a few have been published already, so if your interested in DNA or any of the groups then please do check those out.

Next week is the eleventh video in this origins series and I will be taking a look at the Haplogroup R-CTS2509

So Until next week,

 A big thank you for joining me, stay safe, keep well and bye for now.

Leave a comment