Six Generation Wheel Chart – Thomas Walter Frank Bean

It’s been a while since I have written any posts on WordPress, as life has kept me very, very busy these past couple of months and I have also been working through my tree (at a slow pace) fixing any mistakes I come across and ensuring my sources are all cited correctly. I started this process January last year and I’m not even halfway. Although my paternal ancestry (off which I only know one half) and one-quarter of my maternal tree is completed up to the Tudor period (the branches which can be researched). Once the branches I am working on are finished I can then devote my time to writing more posts here on WordPress.

In the past I have found it all too easy to lose track of what I am working on and I used to jump from one branch to the next all the time, which often resulted in incomplete work and a lack of citation. My goal this past year or two has been to start at the beginning and work through each person and each generation, I usually only concentrate on ancestors, aunts, uncles and rarely no further then 1st cousins unless I notice something off interest. All of my posts last year were a result of this work and I plan to do the same with the branches I am currently working on.

Once this is all completed, the next phase of my research is my gateway ancestors which is an important area of my tree as these links offer a doorway into our medieval history, I will then be able to move forward again and complete my medieval branches. So I have a lot of work ahead of me (years of work).

This is my 18th year of family research and my tree has evolved a lot since those early days, I will probably still be sitting here when I’m 86 years old 🙂 or at least I hope so, I have a lot of knowledge I want to share with my family’s descendants.

I hope everyone’s research is coming along well, I will catch up soon with all of your posts.

Below is a six generation wheel chart relating to the ancestors of my great-grandfather Thomas Walter Frank Bean (1903 – 1965) His family were London-based and his ancestors hailed from London, Norfolk, Kent, Hampshire, Yorkshire, Dorset and Wiltshire. He shares an ancestor with my paternal family and descends from the Howard, Grey and Bray family.

Thomas Walter Frank Bean. Six Generation Wheel Chart

Thomas Walter Frank Bean.
Six Generation Wheel Chart

11 thoughts on “Six Generation Wheel Chart – Thomas Walter Frank Bean

    • There are far to many jobs to be done whilst researching and it’s easy to lose track and cut corners. Although generally my tree is very tidy and well organised. But making sure all sources are cited and information is double checked is a big important aspect of research.
      I have discovered a few mistakes along the way, which is all good as I’ve noticed them before someone else does lol 🙂

      • Very true lol 🙂 hehe 🙂 and I am sure I’m a little bit OCD when it comes to organising things and I kind of treat my family tree as an extension of my home lol. (not sure if that’s a good thing)

  1. Always good to see a post from you. Since I am still in my early years of doing this, I am improving my sourcing as I learn. I imagine some day I will go back and make sure my citations are all in proper form!

    • I have always thought your sourcing and citation is on top form. Even with the way you approach your writing and tell your ancestors stories, you always provide evidence of your work. Your blog is a goldmine for anyone related and also researching. 🙂 lovely to hear from you Amy and I hope all well and a very big congratulations to the newest member of your family 🙂

      • Thank you, Stephen. It’s funny—I look back to my early blog posts and realize that I didn’t always provide the links or the location where I found a particular source. I would just copy it into the post without attribution. I know I should go back and do that, but moving forward is so much more rewarding than going backwards… Glad to see you back in cyberspace! I missed reading your blog and learning about English history!

  2. Your plan to get all your research into good order is an excellent one although very time consuming as you say. When you go back over your info I think you often see new things that you missed first time round. Good luck with it.

    • Very true, I have found lots of little mistakes as I have worked through my past work and one big mistake (lol) which resulted in me deleting an entire branch of my tree and starting over, (only about 30 – 40 people) but hey… I do like those moments. 😉

Leave a Reply

