The Last Will and Testament of Elizabeth Gray, Spinster of Morpeth, 1656

Name Elizabeth Gray
Probate Date 4 Jun 1658
Residence Morpeth, Northumberland

Source:

The National Archives; Kew, England; Prerogative Court of Canterbury and Related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers; Class: PROB 11; Piece: 277

Will of Elizabeth Gray of Morpeth

Will of Elizabeth Gray of Morpeth

Dated   Eleaventh day of October in the year of our lord God one thousand six hundred and ffifty six (11 Oct 1656)

In the name of God Amen I Elizabeth Gray of Morpeth in the County of Northumland Spinster daughter of Sr: Edward Gray knight deceased late of Morpeth Castle in the said county of Northumbland being weake in body but of perfect mind and memory praysed be God for the same doe make this my last will and Testamt. In manner and form following, First I bequeath my Soule to Almighty God my creator and redeemer and my body to be buried where my Executors shall appoint, And as touching my worrdly Estate of what kind soever, I doe dispose thereof as followeth, and first Whereas I have an Anuity or rent charge of thirty pounds per ann lawfull English money issuing going and coming forth out of the lands and tenements of Sr John Fennwick knt and Barronett and William ffenwicke Esqr his sonne in Ashington within ye parish of Bothall and County of Northumberland, payable by the said Sr John ffinwicke and William ffenwicke his sonne yearly at Martinmas and Penticost by equall porcons as appeareth by their Deed Indented bearing date the tenth day of June in the three and twentieth year of the Late King Charles, with one bond bearing date the three and twentieth day of June and three and twentieth years of the said King Charles for performance of covenants which rent charge taken in the name of my Cosen Robert Gray of Langton in the County of Yorkshire as feoffee in trust for my life, I do give twentie pounds p ann yearly out of the said rent charge unto my nephew Edward ffinwike sonne of Randall ffenwick gentl deceased and to his heirs and assignes for ever together with all the deeds, evidence & securities granted for the same, To have and to hold the said Anuity or rent charge of twenty pounds per ann unto the said Edward ffenwike Esq heires and assigns for ever, and for all the other tenn Pounds of the said annuity or rent charge of thirty pounds per ann, I give the said tenn pounds per ann yearly unto my niece ffrances ffinwike daughter of Randall ffenwike your aforesaid and to her heirs and assigns for ever; To have and to hold the said annuity or rent charge of tenn pound per ann unto the said ffrancis ffinwicke her heirs and assigns for ever, and if any tyme hereafter the aforesaid Sr John ffinnwike and William ffinwicke his sonne or any of their heires please to pay in the principall money for which the said rent charge of thirty pound p ann was granted then my will is that my nephews Edward ffennwike and his heirs shall have two parts of all the said principall money and my niece ffrancis ffinwicke and her heirs shall have the other third part.

Item whereas I am seazed to me and my heirs of one Anuity or rent charge of ten pounds per ann lawfull English money issueing going and comeing forth out of the lands of Ralph Midleton deceased in Whoton in the County of Northumberland payable by the said Ralph Midleton of Trewicke and his heirs yearly upon the ninth day of June, and the ninth day of December by equall porcon & as appeareth by a conveyance made betwixt the said Ralph Midleton and me I doe give the said anuity or rent charge of ten pounds per ann with all the deeds evidences and securities granted to me for the same unto myNephew Henry Gray sonne of my brother Edward Gray and to his heirs and assigns for ever, To have and to hold the said annuity or rent charges of tenn pounds per ann unto the said Henry Gray his heirs and assigns for ever;

Item whereas I am seised to me and my heirs for ever of one annuity or rent charge of five pound per ann lawfull English money issueing goeing and coming out of the land of Nicholas Thornton gentl in Gally hill in the County of Northumberland payable by the said Nicholas Thornton and his heirs at the feast of St Martin the Bushopp in winter and penticost commonly called Whitsonday yearly by equall porcons, I doe give the said Anuity or rent charge of five pounds per ann unto my nephew Thomas Gray of Angerton sonne of my brother Thomas Gray deceased; and to his heirs and assigns for ever; To have and to hold the said annuity or rent charge of ffive pounds per ann unto the said Thomas Gray his heirs an assigns for ever,

Item whereas I am seised to me and my heirs for ever of one an Anuity or rent charge of twenty pounds per ann lawfull English money issuing going and comeing forth out of the Lands and tenements of Sr Edward Widdington Barronett in Snitter in the County of Northmberland, payable by the said Sr Edward Widdington yearly at Martmas and Whitsonday by equall porcons as appeareth by his deed Indented bearing date the five and twentieth day or Maie in the Eighteen year of the late King Charles, I doe give and bequeath the said Anuity or rent charge of twenty pounds per ann unto my nephew Edward Gray Grandchild of my brother Edward Gray and to his heirs and assigns for ever, And my will is that the evidences and deeds for the said Anuity or rent charges shall be kept in the hands or custody of my Cosen Charles Brandling esqr of ffelling till the child come to the full age of one and twenty years and if he dye before that tyme then I do desire that the said writing may be delivered to my Nephew Henry Gray sonne of my brother Edward Gray,

Item whereas I am seised to me and my heirs for ever of one dwelling howse in Morpeth in a street called Newgate which is the Howse I now dwell in with a garden back count two rigge of land and two back houses thereuto belonging I doe give and bequeath the said dwelling howse with the premises before menconed and all and every their appurtinence unto my niece Katherine ffenwicke for and during her life natural and after her death to my nephew Edward Gray of Angerton mill and to his heirs and assigns forever, provided allways that my nephew Henry Gray may have his Lodging Chambers & Closett now in his possession and one Stall in the Stable for his life natural only for his own use but not to let or dispose of to any other.

Item I doe give and bequeath my garden and front Joyning to Thomas Soppette howse unto my niece Katherine ffenwicke for and during her life natural, and after her decease to my Nephew Edward Gray of Angerton Mill and to her heirs and assigns for ever

Item I do give unto my neece Katherine ffenwick all the interest I have in John Coupers back Kitchen

Item whereas I am seised to me and my heirs for ever of one annuity or rent charge of ten shilling p ann lawfull English money issuing and goeing forth of fored Rigge of land within the Burroton of Morpeth known by the name of Stony flatt payable yearly by Robert Wardhaugh and Isabell his wife at the feast of St Martin the Bushopp in winter as appeareth by their deed bearing date the seavin and twentieth day of January anno dm one thousand six hundred thirty seaven I doe give and bequeath the said annuity or rent charges of Tenn shillings p an unto my nephew Edward Gray of Angerton and to my neece Katherine ffenwicke and to their heirs and assigns for ever,

Item whereas I have an annuity or rent charge of thirty two shilling p anno lawfull English money issueing and goeing out of a burgage howse messuage or tenemt of Nicholas Swann in Morpeth lately purchased of Thomas Reedhead and out of his mault-kill Morpeth aforesaid in a street called Newgate at a place called Copper Chare which rent charge or annuity is taken in the name of my nephew Edward Gray of Angerton Mill in trust for my use I doe give and bequeath the said annuity or rent charge of thirty two shillings p anno unto my nephew Edward Gray of Angerton Mill and to my neece Katherine ffenwicke and to their heirs and assigns for ever or towards the payment of Legacies.

 Item whereas I have a debt of ffiftie pounds lawfull English money oweing to me by Edward Lewin of Limmouth [Learmouth] gentl for securing of which money certen lands are engaged to my nephew Edward Gray of Angerton Mill in trust for my use called by the name of Bells close part of the Northfield lands in the parish of Morpeth and County of Northumbland I doe give and bequeath the said some of ffifty pounds & all the interest clayme and title I have in the said lands unto my neece Katherine ffenwicke, and my nephew Edward Gray of Angerton mill and to their heirs and assigns for ever towards the payments of debts and Legacies.

Item whereas I have a debt of two hundred and threescore pounds lawfull English money oweing me which is to be paid out of the lands at Riplington and Whoton [Whalton] in the Countie of Northumberland late belonging to Cuthbert Sapwith In body of London deceased the security for the said moneys being taken in the name of my nephew Edward Gray of Angerton mill as feoffee in trust for me, I doe give and bequeath the said debt of two hundred and threescore pounds with all the deeds Leases Evidences and writings which were passed and granted to my said nephew Edward Gray in trust for me unto my three neeces vizt Elizabeth Gray Katherine Gray and Ann Gray all daughters of my brother Thomas Gray deceased thus to be devided vizt to Eliz. Gray one hundred pounds, to Katherine Gray one hundred pounds and to Ann Graye threescore pounds,

Item whereas Sr ffrancis Brandling knight late of Alnewick abbey deceased and Sr Nicholas Tempest knight late of fflattworth deceased in the County of Northumberland and their heirs stand bound to me in a penall Bond of six hundred pounds lawfull English money which bond I have served and have obteyned a judgement upon the said bond against the said Sr Nicholas Tempest, I doe give and bequeath the said bond and all the moneys due and payable uppon the said bond or judgmt. and all the interest and title I have in or to anie the lands of the said Sr Nicholas Tempest aforesaid by virtue of the said bond and Judgment unto my nephew Henry Gray my nephew Charles Gray, and my four nieces videlicet, Mary Riddell Margarett Gray, Katherine Graye and Elizabeth Gray all children of my brother Edward Graye equally to be devided among them part and part like,

Item whereas I have a debt of two hundred pounds lawfull English money owing me uppon bond by John Thornton esqr of Nether Witton in the County of Northumberland wch bond is taken in the name of my nephew Edward Gray of Angerton mill in trust for me, I doe give and bequeath the said two hundred pounds unto my said nphew Edward Graye of Angerton mill his heirs and assigns with all the bonds and writings granted for the same,

 Item I doe give and bequeath unto my brother Edward Graye, my silver Bason and Ewer,

Item I do give and bequeath unto my nephews Henry Gray sonne of my brother Edward Gray two silver flaggons.

Item I do give and bequeath unto my Cosen Robert Graye of Langton.Esqr my Cosin Edward Gray his brother, and my Cosen Martha Gray his sister five pounds apiece each of them to buy a ring,

Item I doe give unto my Cosen Margarett Reed daughter of my Cosen Henry Gray of Kylor [Kyloe] twenty pounds;

Item I doe give unto my Cosin Elizabeth Wood and my God daughter Twenty pounds.

Item I doe give unto my nephew Phillip Gray of Howicke tenn pounds, and to his three brothers five pounds a piece each of them,

Item I doe give unto my sister Katherine ffenwicke my gold borders,

Item I give unto my niece Kath. Ffenwicke my Ruby buttons and to my niece ffrancis ffenwicke my pearle buttons, And I desire my Executors as speedily as they can after my death to pay my debts Legacies and funerall expenses, but my will and mind is that my Executors or either of them shall not be sued troubled or molested for any Legacies given to any person whatsoever until they have made sale of my personall estate which I have left for the payment of my debts and Legacies, Lastly I doe make constitute and appoint my nephew Edward Gray of Angerton Mill, and my neece Katherine ffenwicke daughter of Randall ffenwicke gentl deceased full Executors of this my last will and testament; unto whom I doe give the remainder and surplusage of all my p.sonall estate equally to be devided betwixt them part and part like my debts Legacies funerall expenses and other charges defrayed. In witness whereof I have hereunto sett my hand and seale the Eleaventh day of October in the year of our lord God one thousand six hundred and ffifty six; Elizabeth Gray; Signed sealed and acknowledged by the above said Elizabeth Graye to be her last will and testament before these witnesses Roger Rames John Challener his mark Thomas Pearson William Barker

This will was probated at London before the Judges for probate of wills and granting adminacons the fourth day of June sc by the oaths of Edward Gray and Katherine ffenwicke Executors named in sc to whome was remitted adminacon of all and singular the goods chattells and debts sc They being first by Comission sworne truly to administer.

Leave a Reply

