Extract of Last Will and Testament of Edward Grey of Morpeth, 1659

Source
A History of Northumberland. Issued Under the Direction of the Northumberland County History Committee

 

http://www.mocavo.com/A-History-of-Northumberland-Issued-Under-the-Direction-of-the-Northumberland-County-History-Committee-Volume-2/839477/402

The will of Edward Gray of Morpeth, dated 27 Jan., 1657, proved 1678, is abstracted as follows : ‘ Whereas I was seized of an annuity of £40 out of Great Swinburn, Colwell, Holmshaw, and Whiteside Law, I give it to my second daughter Margaret Gray and her heirs for ever ; I give my annuity out of lands and coal mines, called St. Edmund’s lands, belonging to Sir Thomas and Sir W. Riddell, late of Gateside, knts., to my third daughter, Catherine, and her heirs ; to my youngest son, Charles Gray, and my youngest daughter, Elizabeth Gray, my tithe corn of Ellick alias Elwicke ; to my eldest son, Henry Grey, so much of my demesne of Outchester as shall happen to be free from engagement to Col. Atkins for my Lord Widdrington’s debt; my eldest daughter Mary Riddell ; to the wife of Temple of Berwick, shoemaker, £20; my son, Charles, and my three daughters, Margaret, Catherine, and Elizabeth Gray, executors ; my kinsman, Sir Francis Ratcliffe, knt.; my son Henry Grey, esq., my two nephews, Edward Gray of Angerton and Edward Fenwick of Blagdon, supervisors.’ Durham Probate Registry. Administration of the goods of Margaret Gray of Morpeth, widow, was granted 18 Oct., 1661, to Henry Grey her son.
Leave a Reply

