The Last Will and Testament of Benjamin Janes of Coventry, Tolland County, Connecticut – 1748

The following is an extract of a Will belonging to Benjamin Janes (1672 – 1748)

I give and bequeath unto Elisha Young. my well beloved son, ten shillings in old ten bills, to be paid to him by my Executor out of my Estate & therefore I give and render. why I give to my son Elisha no more in this my last will & Testament is because he hath received his portion of my estate already.

Item. I give & bequeath unto Miriam Elmer and to heirs (gr children) of silence Curtis (Deceased) and to Hannah Brown and to Hephzibah Hawkins & to Esther Hunk (? ), my well beloved daughters, to each one twenty shillings in old ten bills (to the heirs of silence Curtis or her children twenty shillings amongst them) to be paid to them by my Executor out of my Estate and therefore I here give & render. why I give my above daughters no more in this my last will & Testament Is because they have each one received their portions out of my estate already.

Item. I give and bequeath unto Seth Thomas, my well beloved son, all my Goods, chattels, wrights & Accounts of what name or nature, ever that may bound to me belonging or appertaining, and I do hereby constitute, name, ordain & appoint my said son Seth to be sole Executor to this my last will & Testament, hereby publishing & pronouncing & declaring this & none other by my last will & Testament (signed & sealed), published, pronouncing & declaring in the presence of us. Day and year above written.

(?) Morgan
John Larabee
Benjamin Janes

Leave a Reply

