The Last Will and Testament of James Campe of Nazeing – 10 February 1605

Source:

The original will is in the Guildhall 9172/23.

Transcribed from Ancestry.com, digital image, “London, England, Wills and Probate, 1507-1858 [database on-line] for James Campe”, Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations, Inc.,

James Campe of Nazeing

Will: 10 February 1605

In the name of God Amen.  The tenth Daye of February in the yeare of our Lord God one thousand sixe hundred and five [10 Feb 1605]   And in the fourth yeare of the Raigne of our Soveraigne Lord James by the God King of England ffrance & Ireland defender of the faith And of Scotland the VI.

I James Campe of Nasing in the Countye of Essex & Diocese ofLondon yeoman being of good and perfect remembrance (thanks be unto Almightye God) Doe make & ordayne this my last Will & Testament in maner & forme following.  ffirst I commend my soule unto Almightye God my Creator & to Jesus Christ my redeemer by whose Death & passion I believe onlye to be saved, And I comit my bodye to the earth to be buryed in such place as yt shall please God to Appoint for me.  Item I will that all such Debts & Dutyes as I owe of right & Conscience to any person to be payed by my Executors.  And also after my bodye buryed[,] my funeralls discharged & my Debts payed[,] I dispose of & bequeath the Rest of my goods & Lande as followeth — I will give & bequeath to Joane my wife Three acres of Land lying in Madlands in Nasing which I lately purchased of Thomas Williams lying in three parcels  And one pcell of Land called Nopses [or Napsys which he inherited from his father] conteyning by estimation one acre more or lesse to have & to hold the said pcells of Lande unto Joane my said wife During her naturall life, & after her decease I give the same pcells of Land to Robt Campe my sonnes sonne & to the heires of his bodye lawfully begotten for ever   And for default and want of such heires of his bodye lawfully I will that the said parcells of Land shall remaine & be to the right heires of me the said James for ever.  Item I give to Thomas Campe my sonne one standing bed in the new chamber with all the furniture thereto belonging as it now standeth & three payre of good shets and one ioyned Chest and a mault Querne, a salting Troughe, one ladder and a Chesepresse.  Item I give to my sonne Robt Campe one Corslet of Armour furnished.  Item I give to each of my daughter Joanes sonne Jhon Clarke now living twentye shillings   Item I give to Robt my sonnes sonne Twenty shillings, and to Sara Campe his daughter Twenty shillings [crossed out] Tenne pounds to be payde unto all my said childrens children by my Executors when as they shall accomplishe their age of severall ages of one & Twentye years.  Item I give to the pore people of the parishe of Nasing Twentye shillings, & likewise to the poore people of the parishe of Roydon twentye shillings to be payed by my Executors within one quarter of a yeare after my decease.  Item I give to Thomas Wilkinson [or Williamson] my servant three shillings foure pence.  [A crossed out bequest is here, but unreadable]  Item I give to Margaret Peppercorne three shillings foure pence.  Item I give to Joane Sothernwood three shillings foure pence.  All the rest of my goods corne Cattel chattells moveables & housholdstuffe whatsoever not before bequeathed I whollye give & bequeath to Joane my wife whome I ordaine & make my sole & onlye executor to performe this my last will & Testament according to the true meaning thereof.  And hereby I do utterlye revoke & renounce all other wills heretofore by me made.  Item I ordaine upon request to them made my brother Robt Campe & my Cosen Jhon Shelley to be overseers of this my last will to see the same performed according to my true entent & meaning And I give to ech of them for their paines herein five shillings.  In witnesse whereof I the said James Campe have hereunto sett my hand & seale the Daye & yeare first above written.  In the presence of us

James Campe (his mark)

John Shelleye (signs)

Nicholas Campe (his mark)

This was acknowledged by James Campe to be

his last will & Testament as yt is now

amended after the writing thereof, in the presence of

Tho: Fale :

Leave a Reply

