The Last Will and Testament of John Risbridger, Yeoman of Shere, 1631

John Risbridger

Yeoman of Shere

(1579 – 1631)

31787_A045077-00372

The Last Will and Testament of John Risbridger, 1631

Detail: SW/12_83

Court: Surrey Archdeaconry Court

Will of John Risbridger – 14 September 1631

Repository: London Metropolitan Archives and Guildhall Library Manuscripts Section, Clerkenwell, London, England; Reference Number: DW/PA/5/1631; Will Number: 90

Probate: 14 September 1631

Transcribed by: Stephen Kuta

Date: 20th July 2016

This manuscript is out of copyright, but the compilation, the annotation and the textual, editorial, and introductory matter are the copyright of the editors, whose work should be acknowledged in any quotation or reproduction of this work.

The following is an Extract of the full Will

In the name of God Amen

The two and twentieth daie of August anno 1631, the gracious yeare of the reigne of our lorde Charles by the grace of God of England, Scotland, Ffrance and Ireland our King. I John Risbridger of Shere in the county of Sussex yeoman, being sick in body but in perfect memory Pray to be God. I make and ordain this my last will and testament in manner and forme following first and impramilis I give my soule unto almighty God my maker and my body to the Earthe. First I give and bequeath unto my son Henry Risbridger my messuage etc. called Burdens, Shere with all deeds etc. and £50 at 21; to my son John Risbridger £50 at 21; to my daughter Catherine Risbridger £100; to my daughter Elizabeth Risbridger £50 at 21; to my eldest son William Risbridger all my messuages etc. unbequeathed paying my four children as aforesaid; to my daughters Joan Stone and Dorothy Spencer £1 each; residue to my wife Joan Risbridger and son William, execs.

(to church 10s; to poor £3)
Witnesses: John Steere; Thomas Steere; Richard Margesson
Proved: 14 Sep 1631 to execs

Leave a Reply

