The Last Will and Testament of Joan Poynings, 1369

Joan Poynings

Widow of Sir Michael Poynings, Knight

(Nee; Rokesley)

(1326 – 1369)

Source: Testamenta Vetusta

Published in 1826

Transcribed by Nicholas Harris Esq

 

Joan, widow of Sir Michael Poynings, Knight”. Friday after the Ascension, 1369. My body to be buried in the church of Poynings, on the north side, near to the grave of my late husband; to the new building of that church c marks; to Thomas my son c marks, until he be of full age, then to be given to the building of the said church; to Elizabeth my daughter a drinking-cup of silver, with a cover, enamelled and gilt, and also an ewer of the same; to Richard, my other son, two vases and two ewers of silver; and also to the said Richard and Thomas, my sons, and to Agnes Bardolf, my daughter, four pieces of silver, of one suit.

Leave a Reply

