The Last Will and Testament of Joan Soaper of Toller Fratrum, 1755

Joan Soaper

of Cuffs House

Toller Fratrum, Dorset

(Nee; Randal)

1680 – 1755

32451_1831115182_0018-00321

The Last Will and Testament of Joane Soaper of Toller Fratrum, 1755

Detail: Ad/Dt/W/1755

Will of Joan Soaper, Widow of Toller Fratrum, Dorset

Repository: Dorset Archdeaconry

Probate: 1755

Transcribed by: Stephen Kuta

Date: 19th July 2016

This manuscript is out of copyright, but the compilation, the annotation and the textual, editorial, and introductory matter are the copyright of the editors, whose work should be acknowledged in any quotation or reproduction of this work.

 

In the name of God Amen

The twentieth day of April in the year of our Lord 1752, I Joan Soaper of the parish of Toller Fratrum in the county of Dorset Widow being of perfect mind and memory thanks be given unto God. Therefore calling unto mind the mortality of my body and knowing it is for all men once to die do make and ordain this my last will and testament, that is first and principally I give and recommend my soul into the hands of Gods that gave it and for my body I commend it to the Earth to be buried in a Christian like and decent manner at the discretion of my Executor nothing doubting but at the General Resurrection I shall receive the same again by the might power of God, and as touching such worldly Estate where with it hath pleased God to bless me in this life I give device and  dispose of the same in the following manner and form.

IMPRIMIS I give and bequeath to my son John Soaper my house, Orchard and Garden called Cuffs House after the decease of James Cuff during his life.

ITEM I give to my grandson Edward Soaper three pounds per year of lawful money of Great Brittain to be paid by my Executor out of Soapers living as long as my son John Soaper live together, with a feather bed and the cloths belonging to the same.

ITEM I give to my grandson John Soaper the sum of five pounds lawful money of Great Brittain.

ITEM I give to my grandson Robert Soaper the sum of five pounds lawful money of Great Brittain.

ITEM I give to my grandson Matthew Soaper the sum of five pounds lawful money of Great Brittain.

ITEM I give to my grand Daughter Joan Soaper the sum of five pounds lawful money of Great Brittain together with half my wearing cloaths.

ITEM I give to my grandson Thomas Soaper the sum of twenty shillings lawful money of Great Brittain.

ITEM I give to my grandson George Soaper otherwise Cuff the sum of five pounds lawful money of Great Brittain.

ITEM I give to my son George Soaper otherwise Cuff my two tenements called Bartletts and Soapers livings in the parish of Toller Fratrum together with my house Garden and Orchard my household goods and half my wearing cloaths, my bills bonds and money that I shall disposed of besides everything that I can justly claim as my own and is not before mentioned in the contrary in this Will —

I likewise make ordain and constitute my son George Soaper otherwise Cuff my only and sole Executor of this my last Will and Testament by him firstly to be enjoyed, and I do hereby utterly disallow revoke and disannul all and every other former testaments Wills legacies requests and Executors by many ways before this time named willed and bequeathed ratifying and confirming this and no other to be my last will and testament. In witness where of I have unto set my hand and seal this day and year above written.

Signed sealed published pronounced and declared by the said Joan Soaper as her last will and testament in the presence of us.

Henry Strickland

The mark X of Ann Strickland

Nathaniel Strickland

 

The mark X of Joan Soaper

 

May 19th 1755 George Soaper otherwise Cuff the above named Executor was sworn before me.

Geo Syndercombe Surr.

Leave a Reply

