The Last Will and Testament of Richard Curtis of Buckland Newton, 1794

Richard Curtis

Blacksmith of Buckland Newton

(1732 – 1794)

32451_1831115184_0024-00232

The Last Will and Testament of Richard Curtis of Buckland Newton, 1794

Detail: Ad/Dt/W/1795

Will of Richard Curtis of Buckland Newton

Repository: Dorset Archdeaconry

Probate: 9 July 1794

Transcribed by: Stephen Kuta

Date: 18th July 2016

This manuscript is out of copyright, but the compilation, the annotation and the textual, editorial, and introductory matter are the copyright of the editors, whose work should be acknowledged in any quotation or reproduction of this work.

In the name of God Amen

I Richard Curtis of the parish of Buckland Newton in the County of Dorset, Blacksmith do hereby make and ordain this to be my last will and testament in manner and from following, first my desire is to be buried in Buckland Newton in a plain and decent manner by my executor here after mentioned.

IMPRIMIS ITEM I give unto my daughter Mary Curtis the sum of one shilling ITEM I give unto my son George Curtis the sum of one shilling. ITEM I give unto my daughter Ann Collingood the sum of one shilling. ITEM I give unto my son James Curtis the sum of six pounds and six shillings ITEM I give unto Mary Hopkins the daughter of Ann Hopkins the sum of five guineas and aforesaid monies to be paid at the end of twelve calendar months after my decease, by the hand of Ann Hopkins whom I appoint and ordain my whole and sole executor of this my last will and testament and also William Hopkins to be in trust of this my last Will. ITEM I give unto the said Anne Hopkins all my household annuities of every dimension whatever, goods and chattels, and possession of my house located in the parish of Buckland Newton, except two beds I give unto the two boys with the garden and orchard where to belonging that is to say, if she the said Ann Hopkins remains unmarried but if it so happens she married the aforesaid house, garden and orchard item I also do give unto John and George Hopkins aboding in my house with their mother and after they decease the house, shop, garden, orchard and everything there to belonging is one of the aforesaid John or George Hopkins dies that shall go to the other and his heirs forever and if both of them the said John and George dies before they are married and leave no issues and then James Curtis to have the said house, garden, shop, orchard and so forth situate in the parish of Buckland Newton aforesaid I do give equally between John and George Hopkins also all my working tools of every description I give equally between them and I hereby do nominate and appoint William Hopkins Executor in trust of this my last will and testament and I here unto have set my hand and seal this 9th day of July one thousand seven hundred and ninety-four.

Signed sealed and published and declared by the said testator this and has his last will and testament in the presence of me who have subscribed and names as witnessed as this requests and in his presence and in the presence of each other.

William Preston

John Durrant

William Hopkins

Leave a Reply

