The Last Will and Testament of Barnaby Wood, Victualler of Mountnessing, 1806

Barnaby Wood

Victualler of Mountnessing

(1757 – 1806)

dawe-kuta-x492-15-ddcf-f133-1-1.jpg.jpg

The Last Will and Testament of Barnaby Wood of Mountnessing – probate 1806

Detail: D/AEW 40/13/6

Will of Barnaby Wood of Mountnessing, victualler

Repository: Essex Record Office

Probate: 11 July 1806

Transcribed by: Stephen Kuta

Date: 18th July 2016

The Wood manuscripts is out of copyright, but the compilation, the annotation and the textual, editorial, and introductory matter are the copyright of the editors, whose work should be acknowledged in any quotation or reproduction of this work.

In the name of God Amen

I Barnaby Wood of Mountnessing in the County of Essex, Victualler being sick and weak but in perfect mind and memory calling to amend the mortality of my body knowing it is appointed unto all man and to die. Do make this my last will and testament in manner and form following that is to say, first I will that all just debts, which I shall and the time of my decease as also my funeral charges be in the first place paid and discharged by my executor and executrix here in after named and as to such worldly effects as it have pleased God to bless me with or where of I shall be possessed with at the time of my decease. I give and dispose of in the following manner. ITEM my will and desire is that immediately after my decease or as soon as to eventually may be all my goods, chattels and other effects whatsoever and wheresoever may and shall be sold and disposed of in the best manner and for the money that can be got for them. Which money my will and desire is, may and shall be placed out at interest and government or such other security as my executor and executrix shall approve of. ITEM my will and desire is that the disposal of the interest generated there of shall be at the disposal of Susannah my beloved wife living her natural life as so long as she remains a Widow and provided that she taken care of the belongings, and the educating of my four sons. William, Joseph, John and Thomas which I had with my first wife. ITEM my will and desire is that after the decease of Susannah my beloved wife or in case my said wife should marry again that then the money and interest there of be equally divided amongst my four sons before mentioned share and share alike. Or in case that either of my four sons aforesaid shall depart this life before they shall attain the age of twenty one years and have no issue then I give their part or share where of, have so dying to the survivors to be equally divided amongst them and share and alike. And i do hereby nominate constitute and appoint Mr William Wood my brother Executor and Susannah my beloved wife Executrix of this my last will and testament and I do here by swear and discount of all and every other Will or Will hereafter at my time made by me do declare this and no other to be my last will and testament.

With Witness I have here unto use my hand and seal this 1st day of November in the year of our lord One Thousand Seven Hundred and Ninety Two.

Barnaby Wood

Signed sealed and declared by the said Testator as and for his last will and testament in the presence of us who have unto subscribed our hand as witnesses.

Newman robeson / Thomas Cramphorn and John Deco – Witnesses.

Leave a Reply

