The Last Will and Testament of John Watson, Bishop of Winchester, 1584

John Watson

Bishop of Winchester

(1520 – 1584)

Source: Genealogical gleanings in England

Transcribed by Henry F Waters. (Henry Fitz-Gilbert), 1833-1913

Published in 1901

John Watson, Bishop of Winchester, 23 October, 25″* Elizabeth, proved 22 June 1584. My body to he buried in the body of the Cathedral church of the Trinity of Wiucliester. To the Corporation of All Souls College, Oxford, forty pounds. To the Corporation of the University of Oxford twenty pounds. To poor scholars in that University one hundred marks, to be delivered within a within a half year after my death by the discretion and api)ointment of my cousins William Saye, Symon Trippe, oi the parson of Winchfelde, William Ilarward and of mine executors or any three of them. An exhibition of four pounds a year for five years to five poor scholars of that University. To the poor of Winchester and of the Soke there twenty pounds. To the poor of Evesham, where I was born, ten pounds. To the poor of Bengeworth five pounds. Forty pounds for a stock to set the poor of Evesham on wOi*k, b}^ the discretion of the BaylifEs of Evesham and of my brother William. To my brother William Watson one hundred pounds &c. To John, his eldest son. To Thomas, his second son. To William, his youngest son. To ray cousin Trippe and his wife. To Nicholas Beane and his wife. To William York and my cousin Ancret his wife. To Agnes Watson, my brother Roben’s daughter. To my cousin William Saye. To my sister Smithe ten pounds and a gilt bowl with a cover, and to every one of her children (not otherwise provided for by this my testament or before my death) ten pounds. To William Smithe her son, the elder, that is with me, twenty marks. To William Smith, her son, now scholar in the College, twenty marks. To my brother William Harward and my sister his wife a silver bowl and ten pounds, and to every one of their children ten pounds. To my brother and sister Venor. To Thomas Venor of the College of Winchester. To Richard Venor. To my brother Thomas Ilarward and my sister his wife a silver bowl and ten pounds. To their son Thomas and the other of my brother Thomas Harward’s children. To ray brother and sister Howse, their son John and their other children. To my brother and sister Hopper, their sou Robert and their other children. To Robert Heye, a prentice in London, son of my sister Heye deceased and to John Ileye, her son, now child in the College. To my cousin John Watson, parson of Winchfeld, and his brother Henry. To my cousin John Watson one of the brothers of Saint Cross. To William Harwarde, Prebendary, one of my gowns.
Leave a Reply

