The Last Will and Testament of Richard Heyborne, Yeoman of Rusper, 1616

Richard Heyborne

Yeoman of Rusper

(1530 – 1616)

Held by the National Archives

Probate: 4 June 1616

Reference: PROB 11/127/656

In the name of God amen the first daye of January in the yere of oure Lord god according to the Computacon(?) of the Churche of England one thousand sixe hundred and fifteene and in the yere of the raigne of oure Soveraigne Lord James by the grace of god of England Scotland France and Ireland the thirteenth and of Scotland the Nine and fortieth  I RICHARD HEYBORNE of Rusper in the Countie of Sussex and Dioces of Chichester yeoman beyng of perfect mynde and memorye I thanke god for yt Doe ordayne and make this my last will and Testament in manner and forme following  First I commend my Soule unto Almightie god my Creator and maker and to Jesus Christe my Redemer and Savyoure  And my bodye I will shalbe buryed in the Churchyarde of Rusper aforesayed  Item I give to the highe Churche of Chichester six pence Item I give to the poore of the parishe of Rusper aforesaid (this is written in the margin and no amount mentioned) Item I give to the poore of the parishe of Beachworth in the Countie of Surrey fortie shillinges to be payed at one entire payment and distributed amongst them according to theire severall wants at the discretion of the Minister and Overseers of the poore there  Item I give unto every one of my godchildren that shall demand yt three shillinges  Item I give unto ELIZABETH STONE my Daughter late wife of ROBERT STONE of Rusper aforesayed yeoman deceased my greatest brasse Cawldron twoe pewter platters twoe pewter Dishes and twoe payer of sheetes  Item I give unto her the sayed ELIZABETH more my silver Cupp the twoe ioyned Stooles Chaire and Dishe that are in my bedchamber  Item I give unto Katherine Stone my daughter wife of John Stone of Ockley in the Countie of Surrey aforesayed yeoman one greate brasse kettle twoe pewter platters twoe pewter dishes and twoe payer of sheetes  Item I give unto John Stone of the Nunnerye a greate ___chest one kneade troughe and one powdering(?) troughe standing in the Bakehouse in the Nunnerye  Item I give unto Elizabeth Jellat the daughter of William Jellat of Dorking in the Countie of Surrey aforsayed fyve poundes of lawfull englishe money  to be payed unto her within one yere next after my decease  Item I give unto Katherine Margesson the wife of Richard Margesson of Ockley aforesayed three poundes of lawfull englishe money to be payed within one yere next after my decease  Item I give unto William Stone Jane Stone Henry Stone and Robert Stone the children of the abovenamed John Stone of Ockley and of the said Katherine his wife my daughter tenne poundes a peece to be payed unto them  in lawfull englishe money within one yere next after my decease  And yf any of them dye before they have receyved theire sayed portion I will the same shall remayne to the Survivors and Survivor of them  Item I give to the children of Richard Puttocke of Rudgwicke my kynnesman twentie poundes of lawfull englishe money to be equallie divided betweene them and payed unto them and the Survivors and Survivor of them within one yere next after my decease  Item I give unto George Blake the sonne of Richard Blake my kynnesman the twoe Bedsteadles and the twoe Featherbed that are in my bedchamber with the Coverletts Blancketts Bolsters pillowes and all other furniture to them belonging  Item I give unto hym the sayed George more the round table and three greate Chests in that chamber with all that shalbe in those Chests in the daye of my decease  Item I give unto Johane Snell the servant of the abovenamed John Stone of the Nunnerye three poundes of lawfull englishe money to be payed unto her sayed Master John Stone to her use within one yere next after my Decease  Item I give unto Margaret Francis the daughter of Robert Francis deceased and servant of the abovenamed John Stone of Ockley aforesayed fortye shillinges of lawfull englishe money to be payed unto her within six monethes next after my decease  Item I give and bequeathe to William Puttocke the sonne of the abovenamed Richard Puttocke of Rudgwicke in the Countie of Sussex aforesayed all my mesuage houses buildings gardens landes Tenements and hereditaments with all and singular theire appurtences in Horsham in the Countie of Sussex aforesayed which I boughte and purchased to me myne heires and assignes of John Cooper als Butcher and Elizabeth his wife Henry Bignoll and Thomas _onghurst and Marye his wife with the evidences and writings thereof To have and to hould all the sayed Mesuage houses buildings gardens Landes tenements and hereditaments with all and singular theire appurtenances unto the sayed William Puttocke his heires and assignes forever to the only use of the sayed William Puttocke his heires and assignes for evermore  Item whereas there ys one Annuitye or yerlie rent of thirtie poundes of lawfull englishe money yssuing and going out of certaine Landes in Horsham and Rusper to me myne executors and assignes during my life and for one whole yere after my decease  And whereas allso the abovenamed John Stone of the Nunnerye in Rusper aforesayed standeth bonnde to me the sayed RICHARD HEYBORNE in and by one writing obligatorye to paye tenne poundes within one yere after my decease to suche persons as I shall nominate by my last will for having of yt  I will and bequeathe the sayed yerelie Rent of thirtie poundes for that one yere after my decease and the sayed somme of tenne poundes to be due then by the sayed writing obligatorye unto myne executors hereinundernamed  Item whereas in a dede of Feofment made by me of certayne Landes in Ockley aforesayed called Holbrokes Brokys Gages and Hales Gayges I have reserved to me and my assignes all the sayed landes with thappurtences for one whole yere after my decease I will the Rent of the sayed landes beyng eighteene poundes thirteene shillinges and fouer pence and one Quarter of Oats unto ye abovenamed William Stone the sonne of the abovenamed John Stone of Ockley aforesayed and of Katherine his wife my daughter  All the residue of my goodes not before given (my Debts payed my legaceys performed and my bodye honestlie buryed) I give and bequeathe to Henry Stone and Jane Bowell widowe children of the abovenamed Robert Stone and Elizabeth his widowe my daughter which sayed Henry Stone and Jane Bowell I doe ordayne and make full whole and joynte executors of this my last will and testament  And I doe ordayne and appoynte my trustie and welbeloved freindes Joseph Browne Clerke parson of Rusper aforesayed and the abovenamed John Stone of the Nunnerye in Rusper yeoman overseers of this my last will and testament  And I give to them twentie shillinges apeece for theire paynes to be taken therein  And my very will and intent ys that all other willes made by me before this shalbe voyde frustrate and of noe force and that this my present will shalbe taken for my very true and last will  In witnesse whereof I the sayed RICHARD HEYBORNEhave to theise presents set myne hande and seale in the presence of those whose names are underwritten 1615  The marke of the sayed RICHARD HEYBORNE

Joseph Browne  John Stone and William Browne

Probate in Latin granted to Henry Stone and Jane Bowell

Leave a Reply

