The Last Will and Testament of Sir William Ferrers, 1368

Sir William Ferrers

3rd Baron Ferrers of Groby

(1333 – 1372)

Source: Testamenta Vetusta

Transcribed by Nicholas Harris

Extract of Medieval Will

 

WILLIAM LORD FERRERS, OF GROBY. William Ferrers, Lord of Groby’, June ], 1368.

My body to be buried in the Conventual Church of our Lady at Ulvescroft; to poor people and for my funeral expences c/.; to the Friars at Leicester, at Maldon, at Stebninge, and Woodham ; I will that there be five tapers, four mor-ters, and tvi^enty-four torches, at my burial; to Elizabeth, my daughter, a nun in the Minories, London, xxZ.; to the Abbess and Nuns there x marks; to Margaret, my wife”; to Henry, my son, my green bed, with my arms thereon; to Margaret, my daughter, my white bed and all the furniture, with the arms of Ferrers and UfFord thereon; to Phi-lippa de Beauchamp, my sister, a cup of silver, standing on three lions, with a cover, also two pattels and a salt-cellar of silver; to Ehzabeth d’Assells, my sister, my best spice plate, also a tablet of silver gilt and enamelled with three leaves set with figures, one of the Ascension of our Lady in a tabernacle; Sir Ralph Basset, of Sapcoat”^; Sir John Talbot^. Proved 14 kal. August’ 1372.

Leave a Reply

