The Last Will and Testament of Sir Roger de la Warre, 1368

Sir Roger de la Warre, Knt

3rd Baron de la Warr

of Wakerley Manor

(1326 – 1370)

Source: Testamenta Vetusta

Transcribed by Nicholas Harris

 

ROGER LORD LA VVARRE. Roger La Warre, Knt.’ at my Manor of Wakerle, in Northampton 28th April, 42 Edward IlL 1368. My body to be buried in the Abbey of Svvineshed, in the County of Lincoln, if 1 die in England, without pomp; and I will that on my funeral day twenty four torches be placed about my corpse, and two tapers, one at my head, the other at my feet; and also that my best horse shall be my principal % without any armour or man armed, according to the custom of mean people; I will that c/. be distributed amongst poor people, not by penny dole, but that every person, whom my executors may think fit, shall have half a mark; also I will that all the debts of Sir John La Warre, my grandfather, and the Lady Joan, his wife, and likewise the debts of the Lady Margaret, my mother, be duly paid ; to Aleanore, my wife, all the vestments, books, and other necessaries belonging to my chapel; after all my debts and legacies be paid, I will that the remainder of my goods be divided into three parts, the one to be disposed of for the health of my soul; the second part to Aleonora, my wife; the third to Thomas, Edward, and John, my younger sons; to John, my eldest son; to Katherine, my daughter^ And I appoint my sons John and Thomas my executors. Witnessed by Sir Hugh Husee, Knt.

 

Roger Lord La Warre was summoned to Parliament in the 36th and 37th Edward IIL ; he died 27th August 1370, aged about 41. Dugdale, vol. ii. p. 16. According to Collins’s Peerage, vol. viii. p. 380, for his services at the battle of Poictiers in taking John King of France prisoner, he obtained the crampet or chape of that monarch’s sword as a memorial of his conduct in that exploit, and which he and his successors wore as an honourable augmentation to their ensigns. His second wife, who is mentioned in his will, was Eleanor, daughter of John Lord Mowbray; all his sons died s. p. and the barony passed to Reginald West, son of Sir Thomas West, by Joan his daughter. ^ Or Mortuary. Not mentioned in Dugdale’s extract, but so called in the note of this will in the Harl. MS. whence the above is taken.

Leave a Reply

