The Last Will and Testament of Katherine, Countess of Warwick, 1369

Katherine de Beauchamp

(Nee; Mortimer)

Countess of Warwick

(1313 – 1369)

Source: Testamenta Vetusta

Transcribed by Nicholas Harris

Extract of Medieval Will

 

Katherine Countess of Warwick’. August 4, 1369- My body to be buried where the Earl, my husband, shall appoint. To the Earl, my husband, my goblet bound with gold, and those buckles of gold which I used to carry, and also a ring with an emerald in it; to Thomas, my son, my book of ch.; to William, my other son, a tablet of gold ; to Maud de Clifford, my daughter’, a cup enamelled with dogs ; to Philippa de Stafford, my daughter^, a bowl with a cover; to my daughter Alice^ a cup of silver gilt; to Margaret Montfort s, my daughter, the cross with the pedestal in my Chapel; to Isabel, my daughter, a cup; to Elizabeth, the daughter of my son Guy, a cup ^; to the Convent of Friars Preachers at Worcester xx/.; to the Friars Preachers of Shrewsbury xx /.; to the Friars Minors there XX /. ; to the Friars Preachers of Northampton xx I. ; to the Friars Minors of Coventry xx I. ; to the Friars Minors of Litchfield xx /. And I appoint Isabel de Harley, Ralph Tangeley, and John Fulvesse, my executors, and I desire my husband to be assisting to them in the performance of this my will*.

Daughter of Roger Mortimer, first Earl of March; she died 4th August 1369, a few months before her husband Thomas Earl of Warwick,

 

Leave a Reply

