The Last Will and Testament of Baldwin Malet, Esquire, 1533

Baldwin Malet, Esquire

of West Quantockshead, Somerset Manor

of Devon

(1480 – 1533)

Source: Somerset Medieval Wills

Published in 1901

by Weaver, Frederic William, 1853-1933, ed

 

1533. BALDEWIN MALETT. [4 HOGEN.] July 12th,25 Hen. VIII. Baldewyn Malet, Esquire. I will my feoffees of my manor of Westcontokyshed in the county of Somerset shall stand and be seised thereof to the use of me and of Anne my wife, the reversion to Michell Malet my son and his heirs and for lack of heirs to John, Thomas and Adam Malet my sons in order, and for lack of heirs to them to Hughe Malet esquire and his heirs for ever. The reversion of all other my lands in Westcontokyshed to the use of the said Michell, John, D Thomas and Adam and for lack of issue to remain to the heirs of me and of Anne my wife and for lack of such issue to the right heirs of me, forever. I will my feoffees of all my lands in North Petherton and elsewhere in the counties of Somerset and Devon stand and be seised thereof to the use of me and after my decease to the use of Anne my wife, the reversion to the use of the said John, Thomas, Adam and Michell my sons in order and their heirs etc. Also my feoffees of my manor of Swannewich a/s. Sanderwick in the Isle of Purbike co. Dorset to stand and be seised thereof to the use of me and of Anne my wife and I will they make estate of one moytie thereof to the said Thomas, Adam, John and Michell in order etc., and of the other moytie to the said Adam, Thomas, John and Mychell in order and their heirs etc. Also my feoffees of my moytie of the manor of Benstepopham co. Southampton to stand and be seised to the use of me and of Anne, my wife, the reversion to the said John, Thomas, Adam and Mighell in order and their heirs etc. And if either of the said Thomas and Adam be a preeste ‘ he shall have his part until he be promoted to a benefice worth ;6^20 by the year after which his title in the above shall be void. To Anne and Elizabeth Malet my’daughters 300 marks each to their marriage. I will the revenues of the said premises go to the finding the said John, Thomas and Adam as well in mete and drinke as in lerning at scole. To the parish church where my body shall be buried 20s. To the two orders of Freers in Excetor 20s, each for a solempne Dirige with a Trentall of Divine masses. To the greye freers of Bridgwater 20s. for the same purpose. To the vicar of the parish church of St. Thomas the martir without Exbridge for oblaciouns and pryvyt tithes forgotten 13j. 4^. Each of my servants to have a quarter’s wages. To my clerks, if I fortune to have two at the time of my death, to the longest contynuar of them 20s., to the other 13J. 4d. Residue : Anne my wife my executrix. In witness whereof I have subscribed every sheet and scrowe of papir with myne owne hande. Witnesses: Sir John Willughby, clerk, Sir Thomas Hole, clerk, Robert Hill, Antonny Gilbert, John Slannyng, gentilmen, and John Dyer, servant. Proved August 9th, 1533.

Leave a Reply

