The Last Will and Testament of Sir Michael de Poynings, 1369

Sir Michael de Poynings

Knight

(1317 – 1369)

Source: Testamenta Vetusta

Transcribed by Nicholas Harris

Michael de Poynings, Knt.’ Friday’ after the Feast of St. Matthew the Apostle 1368. My body to be buried at Poynings, near to the grave of my mother, southwards; to the building of a new Church there cc marks; to the Friars Carmelites at Shoreham, towards the building of their Church XX /.; to my heir a ruby ring, which ring is called the Charter of Poynings, all the furniture of my Chapel, and all my armour, which my father left me, also a pair of basyns and ewers of silver, twelve new dishes, and twelve saucers of silver3; to the Church of Chichester a cup of silver, enamelled with the arms of Arundel; to my wife Joane; to Robert Botiler cxl/. and the store on my manors of Finchain and Sidestroud in Norfolk; to Richard, my son; to Margaret, my daughter cccc marks to her marriage 3; my bondmen in Sussex to be remembered.

Leave a Reply

