Extract: of the Last Will & Testament of John Riche, 1458

Item, I bequeath to the house of lepers at Kingsland beside Hackney 6s 8d;

opnamedatum:2005-02-03

The Leper (Lazarus Clep) Rembrandt

John Riche is my 17th great-grand uncle, below is an extract from his Will.

John Riche

Citizen and Mercer of London

(1422 – 1458)

The following Will has been transcribed in full on the following website;

The Oxford Authorship Site

This document has been transcribed by Nina Green, you can view this transcription as a PDF document in full here;

Last will and testament, proved 4 November 1458, of John Rich, mercer of London, great-grandfather of Lord Chancellor Richard Rich (d.1567)

Below is the first part (an extract from this transcription), which shows how charitable and how close he felt to the church, please use the links above for the full transcription.

In the name of God, Amen. I, John Riche, citizen and mercer of the City of London, whole of mind, blessed be God, make, ordain and dispose my present testament in this wise:

First I bequeath my soul to Almighty God, Our Lady Saint Mary, and to all the whole company of heaven, and my body to be buried in the church of Saint Thomas of Acres in London before Saint Thomas’ shrine there, and I bequeath to the same place £10;

Also I bequeath to the high altar of Our Lady of the Bowe 40s & 2 torches of the said 12 to be occupied and spent at the said high altar;

Item, I bequeath to the Trinity altar in the said church of Our Lady of the Bowe 2 torches of the same 12;

And I bequeath to the altar of Our Lady of Pity in the said church 2 torches;

And I bequeath to the altar of Saint Nicholas in the said church 1 torch;

Item, I bequeath to the altar in Saint Thomas’ chapel in the said church 1 torch;

Item, I bequeath to the hospital of Our Lady of Bedlem [=Bethlehem], 5 year to endure, every year(?) 1 quarter of wheat and 1 quarter of green peas at Lent to be delivered;

Item, I bequeath to the poor men of the hospital of Saint Bartholomew in Smithfield for bedding to be bought and there to serve for poor folks as long as it will endure 33s 4d;

Item, I bequeath to the poor men of the hospital of Saint Thomas in Southwark forbedding to be bought and there to serve as long as it will endure 33s 4d;

Item, I bequeath to the house of lepers at Kingsland beside Hackney 6s 8d;

Item, I bequeath to the lepers at the lock without Saint George’s Bar in Southwark 13s
4d;

Leave a Reply

