The Last Will and Testament of William Wood of Latchingdon, 1836

Transcription of Mr. Wm Wood’s Will, dated the 23rd June 1836

In the Name of God, Amen, I William Wood of Latchingdon of the County of Essex, Farmer, do make and publish my last Will and Testament in manner following (that is to say): In the first place I direct all my just debts, funeral and testamentary expenses to be paid off and discharged from and out of my personal estate as soon as convenient after my decease.  And I give and devise unto my wife, Lucy Wood, all that my freehold Messuage (occupied as three tenements) with the land or garden grounds and appurtenances thereto belonging, situate and being in the Parish of Heybridge in the said County, now in the occupation of James Ryland and others, to hold to her, my said wife, for and during the term of her natural life if she so long continues my widow and unmarried.  And from and after her decease or second marriage, I give and devise the same unto my two Daughters Frances and Eliza in equal Unities or Shares, to hold them my said daughters Frances and Eliza, their heirs, and assigns for ever as Tenants in Common and not as Joint Tenants.  And I give and bequeath unto my said wife and my friendJohn Augustin Bygrave of Maldon in the said County of Essex, Wine Merchant, all my Estate Term and Interest in the Farm now occupied by me, and all and singular my household furniture, plate, linen, china, books, ready money and securities for money, debts, farming live and dead stock, crops of every description, and the rest and residue of my personal Estate and Effects, whatsoever and wheresoever, to hold to them my said wife and John Augustin Bygrave, their Executors, and Administrators upon Trust that they do and shall within six calendar months next after my decease sell and dispose of all such part and parts thereof as shall not consist of money, either by public auction or private sale or valuation as my be thought fit and proper.  And after paying all expenses attending such sale or valuation, I do hereby declare that they do and shall stand possessed of the clear monies and such as may arise from the collections of debts, whether due on security or otherwise upon Trust, to place on the same in their own Names or Real of Government Security at Interest, and pay and apply the Interest or Dividends arising there from as and when the same shall become due and be received unto my said Wife or authorize and empower her to receive and take the same for and during her life if she so long continues my window and unmarried for the benefit of herself and the maintenance and bringing up of my said Daughters Frances and Eliza. And from and after the decease or second marriage of my said wife, I give and bequessth all my said Trust Monies with the Interest of Dividends that may be them due thereon unto and between my DaughtersMary Ann, the wife of William Granger, Lucy, the wife of James Janes and the said Frances and Eliza Wood in equal shares of proportions, share and share alike, and direct the shares of such of them as shall be then of age to be paid or transferred to them within three calendar months after the decease or second marriage of my said wife to and for their absolute use and benefit, and the share of shares or such of them as shall be then under age shall become vested in and be paid or transferred to them as and when they severally attain the age of twenty one years.  And the Interest or Dividends thereof in the mean time after the decease or second marriage of my second wife shall be paid and applied for their benefit.  And in case either of my said Daughters Frances and Eliza shall happen to depart this life under the age of twenty one years, then I give and bequeath the share of her so dying unto the survivor of them And direct that the same shall become vested in and paid to her at the same time with her original share and in case both my said Daughters Frances and Eliza shall depart this Life under the age of twenty one years, the I give and bequeath their said two shares of my said Trust Monies unto my said Daughters Mary Ann Granger and Lucy Janes in equal shares absolutely, and direct the same to be paid to them at the expiration of three calendar months next after the decease of the Survivor of them, my said Daughters Frances and Eliza during their Minority and as aforesaid.  And I hereby declare that it shall be lawful for my Executrices and Executor to return to and reimburse herself and himself all their reasonable charges and expenses and that neither of them shall be answerable or accountable for the acts, costs, deeds, receipts, defaults or neglects of the other of them.  Any lastly, I hereby nominate, constitute, and appoint my said wife Lucy Wood and John Augustin Bygrave Executrices and Executor of this my Will, hereby revoking all others by me made and declare this alone to be my last Will and Testament.

 

In witness whereof I have hereunto set my hand and seal the twenty third day of June 1836:

 

Wm Wood

 

Signed, sealed, published, and declared by the said William Wood as and for his last Will and Testament in the presence of us who have hereunto set our hands and seals in the presence of the said Testator and of each other

 

John Walford

Richard Bulley Jun

Wm Wright

Leave a Reply

