The Last Will and Testament of Sir Guy de Beauchamp, 1359

SIR GUY DE BEAUCHAMP.

(1337 – 1360)

Source: Testamenta Vetusta

Published in 1826

Transcribed by Nicholas Harris, Esq

Sir Guy de Beauchamp, Knt.^ dated at Canterbury 26th September 33 Edward III. 1359. My body to be buried where my parents shall think proper; to the Earl, my father, my best gold ring; to the Countess, my mother, my next best; to Philippa*, my wife, my third best; to Kathe-rine, my daughter, a nun at Shouldham, my fourth best; I pray my Lord Bardolph, my wife, and others, to whom it appertaineth, that they will cause the Church of Neketon, in Norfolk, which is of my patronage, to be appropriated to the Monastery Church of Shouldham, for the sustenance of Katherine and Margaret, my daughters ‘, and that afterwards the said house of Shouldham shall find a priest to celebrate divine service daily for the souls of the said Katherine and Margaret, and all the faithful departed.

Leave a Reply

