The Last Will and Testament of Guy de Beauchamp, 1315

GUY DE BEAUCHAMP,

10th EARL OF WARWICK.

(1272 – 1315)

Source: Testamenta Vetusta

Published in 1826

Tanscribed by Nicholas Harris Esq

Guy de Beauchamp, Earl of Warwick ^, dated at Warwick Castle Monday next after the Feast of St. James the Apostle’, 1315. My body to be buried in the Abbey of Bordsley, without any funeral pomp; to Alice’^, my wife, a proportion of plate, with a crystal cup and half my bedding, and also all the vestments and books belonging to my Chapel; the other half of my beds, rings, and jewels, 1 bequeath to my two daughters; to Maud, my daughter, a crystal cup; to Elizabeth, my daughter, the marriage of Astley’s heir 3; to Thomas, my son, my best coat of mail, helmet, and suit of harness, with all that belongs thereto; to John, my son, my second coat of mail, helmet, and harness; and I will that all the rest of my armour, bows, and other warlike implements, shall remain in Warwick Castle for my heir.

Leave a Reply

