The Last Will Testament of John Broket Esq (1455 – 1532)

This post showcases the last will and testament of my 17x great-grandfather – John Brocket Esq, of Wheathampstead (1455 – 1532)

 

Will of John Broket or Brokett of Wheathampstead, Hertfordshire

Reference: PROB 11/24/263
Description: Will of John Broket or Brokett of Wheathampstead, Hertfordshire
Date: 06 November 1532
Held by: The National Archives, Kew
Legal status: Public Record

 

40611_311123-00300

PAGE ONE Name: John Brokett [Jo Brokett] Probate Date: 6 Nov 1532 Residence: Whethamsted, Hertfordshire, England

40611_311123-00301

PAGE TWO Name: John Brokett [Jo Brokett] Probate Date: 6 Nov 1532 Residence: Whethamsted, Hertfordshire, England

1. In the name of God amen The vth Day of Septembre the yere of
2. our Lord god a thousande fyve hundred .xxxij. I John’ Broket of Whethamsted in the Countie of
3. Hertford Esquier. hole of mynde and of good remembraunce, make this my Last wille and testament
4. in maner and fourme folowing, First I wille and bequethe my soule to almighty’ god to his moder
5. saint Mary and to all the holy company of hevyne, my body to be buried in the Churche of saint
6. Elyne of Whethampsted that is to say. in the Chapell of our Lady within the said Churche at
7. the discrecione and ordering of my executours, And I bequethe to my moder Churche of Lincolne
8. xijd. Also I bequethe to the highe awter of the said Churche of Whethampsted for my tithes and
9. offeringes forgottene and necligently paid. vjs viijd Also I bequethe to the highe awter of the
10. Churche of Sandruche for the same cause iijs iiijd And in likewise I bequethe to the highe awter
11. of the Churche of saint Ipolytes iijs iiijd Also I bequethe to the Reparacions of my parishe Churche
12. of Whethampsted xls And to the common lightes of the same Churche vjs viijd And to the Torche
13. lightes of the same Churche vjs viijd. And also I will and bequethe to Johne Broket sonne of Johne
14. Broket my sonne: all my goodes and Catalles whiche I nowe haue in righte or in possessione within
15. the parishes of Whethampsted Hatfelde and Sandryche And furthermore I will declare
16. and geve to the said Johne Broket the sonne of Johne Broket my sonne all my londes tenementes
17. medowes woodes and pastures rentes reuersions and seruices with all their appurtenances scituat lying
18. and being within the parisshes of Whethampsted Hatfelde and Sandryche To haue and to holde
19. to him and to his heires foreuer Also I wille geve and bequethe to the said Johne Broket son
20. of the said Johne Broket my sonne all my Fermes and leses of londes tithes and ‘of’ other profites
21. whiche I nowe haue within the said parishes in righte or in possessione. To haue holde and occupie
22. to him his heires and assignes in as large maner and fourme as they nowe are in me, in
23. righte or in possessione Also I will to Edward Broket my sonne my ferme of Almeshobury for
24. terme of his life; paying yerely therfor twentye marces of laufull money Also I wille all the
25. stock of the said ferme there to the childerne of the said Edward evynly bitwene them to be deuided
26. according to my promyse therof to him made; in recompense wherof the said Edward promysed and
27. gave the reversion of his tenement in Hatfelde called Burnes to me and to my heires foreuer,
28. Also I wille that my executours after my dethe perceyve and take all the issues and profites of all my
29. other maners londes and tenementes not before yevene and bequethed to the said Johne Broket my
30. heire for terme of vj yeres next and Immediatly folowing after my decesse And the said issues
31. and profites to be bestowed and deuyded amonges all the Childerne of Johne Broket my sonne aswell
32. sonnes as doughteres that is to sey to euery of the said sonnes except oonly my said heire a hundred
33. pounds And to euery of the said Doughteres a hundred marces to be paid and deliuered to them by myne
34. executours or their assignes by their discrecione Also I will that if it shulde happene any of the
35. said childerne to dye before his parte or porcione of the said money be paid, Then I will that oon
36. half of the same porcione to the said Johne Broket myn heire; and the other half therof to thother
37. of the said Childerne whiche then shalbe lyving. The residue of all my goodes not bequethed after
38. my dettes paide and this my present wille pefourmed I geve and bequethe to the said Johne Broket
39. myn heire whiche Johne Broket and Johne Hyde of Londone I make and ordeyne myn executours
40. to paye my dettes and to perfourme this my last wille In witnesse of this my last will the said
41. Edward Broket Robert Barlee gentilmane Johne Heyworthe Thomas Horley parsone of saint Laurence
42. Ayot, withe diuerse other

Leave a Reply

