Painting the Past – Sketching Moments in Time

My last couple of posts have been a showcase of two sketches / portraits which I have recently commissioned and I would like to continue this as I have a few more completed sketches to show. Hope you enjoy them 🙂

Below is a sketch of a shop front once owned by Reuben Plaskett (5x great-grandfather) of Whitechapel, he and all of his sons were by trade Watch and clockmakers. There are no contemporary images of this shop, or even of Raven Street itself (not that I am aware off). So this sketch is an imagined idea off what it possibly looked like. Reuben lived at 31 Raven Street, Whitechapel, London until his death on the 13 April 1854. The residents of Raven Street in the 1840’s and 50’s consisted of Cabinet Makers, Confectioners, Tailors, Clerks, Boarding Houses, Lawyers, Publicans and the street wasn’t really that big at all. More of a side street.

Imagined Shop front belonging to Reuben Plaskett of Whitechapel Artist: Anje Yoo

Imagined Shop front belonging to Reuben Plaskett of Whitechapel
Artist: Anje Yoo

Below is a portrait of my grandfather William Llewellyn Bean, this a digital portrait taken from a photograph, sadly the picture used was poor quality (a photocopy, one I acquired about 18 years ago, long before I had a scanner) so the artist had a little bit of difficulty working out facial features, this image is the artists second attempt. I have included the actual photograph so you can compare.

Portrait of my grandfather - William Llewellyn Bean. Artist: Hatice Bayramoglu

Portrait of my grandfather – William Llewellyn Bean.
Artist: Hatice Bayramoglu

Original photograph of William Llewellyn Bean

Original photograph of William Llewellyn Bean

Below is an imagined sketch of Napper Challen (1782 – 1855), my 5x great-grandfather. Napper was known by locals as Perambulator Challen, because daily he walked from Donnington to Chichester, Sussex carrying messages for people. An occupation he continued until his death in 1855. He never left home without his hat and was always accompanied by his trustee Wheel Barrow. It’s very likely he used his barrow as an early form of measuring, as perambulator is a device for measuring distance.

Imagined sketch of Napper Challen Artist: Flick Shell

Imagined sketch of Napper Challen
Artist: Flick Shell

6 thoughts on “Painting the Past – Sketching Moments in Time

    • Thank you for your lovely comment, sadly I didn’t paint / Sketch the art though (I wish I was that talented with a paint brush) lol.
      I commissioned the work, although the concepts are my ideas. Art is a great way to bring family history to life.
      I had a quick look at your blog, it looks incredible and the quote you used is probably one of the best quotes I have ever read. I will have a better / longer visit tomorrow as its 1:30 am here in England. Lol. All the best and chat soon.

    • Thank you Amy, I think It helps add a new layer to my family history and in a way I’m playing a small part in what will be history in the future. It’s a little bit of fun too 🙂

Leave a Reply

