My Connection to Hedingham Castle, Castle Hedingham, Essex, England

There is one castle in England which has a very special place in my heart, that castle is Hedingham Castle, Castle Hedingham, Essex.

The reason why!

I held my civil partnership in the castles grand banquet hall on a cold 28th January 2006. It was 4 p.m and the sun was slowly disappearing in the distance. Our pathway to the keep was lit by burning torches and a live vocalist could be heard singing ‘Candle on the Water’ from deep within the keep itself. It was a surreal experience, the imposing stone keep towered high above us and our own small event was about to become a part of its 880 year history. We were the first Gay couple to hold a ceremony here, if walls could talk, if ghosts from ages past stood by watching, what would they have thought?!

Hedingham Castle

Hedingham Castle

When the civil partnership took place, I wasn’t aware that my own family history held such a strong connection to the castle.

My 8x great-grandfather John ‘of Sallary House’ BROWN (1690 – 1742) was born in Sibil Hedingham, Essex (an ancestor I know very little about), and more importantly my 17th great-grandfather John “12th Earl of Oxford” de VERE (1408 – 1462) was born in Hedingham Castle, and it was the main seat of their family and had been so since The manor of Hedingham was awarded to Aubrey de Vere I by William the Conqueror sometime before 1086.

John de Vere, 12th Earl of Oxford (23 April 1408 – 26 February 1462), was the son of Richard de Vere, 11th Earl of Oxford (1385?–15 February 1417), and his second wife, Alice Sergeaux (1386–1452). A Lancastrian loyalist during the latter part of his life, he was convicted of high treason and beheaded on Tower Hill on 26 February 1462.

Sign at the Tower Hill scaffold location. Sign reads:  "Simon of Sudbury, Archbishop of Canterbury 1381 Sir Robert Hales 1381 Sir Simon de Burley, K.G. 1388 Richard Fitzalan, 3rd Earl of Arundel 1397 Rev. Richard Wyche, Vicar of Deptford 1440 John de Vere, 12th Earl of Oxford 1462 John Tiptoft, Earl of Worcester 1470" Source: Wikepedia

Sign at the Tower Hill scaffold location. Sign reads:
“Simon of Sudbury, Archbishop of Canterbury 1381
Sir Robert Hales 1381
Sir Simon de Burley, K.G. 1388
Richard Fitzalan, 3rd Earl of Arundel 1397
Rev. Richard Wyche, Vicar of Deptford 1440
John de Vere, 12th Earl of Oxford 1462
John Tiptoft, Earl of Worcester 1470″
Source: Wikepedia

Below is a selection of images I have pinned to Pinterest relating to Hedingham Castle

2 thoughts on “My Connection to Hedingham Castle, Castle Hedingham, Essex, England

  1. Somehow all my WordPress subscriptions have been sent to my junk mail for the last two weeks. I am sorry I have missed all your recent posts. I am catching up now!

Leave a Reply

