Killed by a Horse

Recently I ordered the Death Certificate for my 4x great-grandfather Thomas Bean (1794 – 1845), when I order new Death Certificates I never know what will be revealed until the mail arrives. Usually it’s a death attributed to old age in someway, but every now and then I find something interesting and it leads me to new records I previously knew nothing about.

I have slowly been building my collection of BMD records and as these cost £9.25 each I have been adding them to my collection slowly. I currently hold about 180 certificates which have all been digitized at high-resolution and uploaded to my ancestry tree for anyone researching these branches. Sadly I have never found a certificate on Ancestry uploaded by anyone else which is directly related to my tree and helps with my research, everybody just waits for me to upload mine instead. Which I really don’t mind, I put them there to share, (being honest) one of my pet hates is when somebody downloads the record and then re-uploads it and pretends it was their money and research to begin with. So now when I hit the ‘search records’ button for one of my ancestors, I can find anything between 1 – 5 copies on Ancestry of the same certificate. That’s just silly, all you need do guys is press add to my tree (Download it by all means, for your own personal records).

Anyway It’s going to be a little while before I add any more certificates to Ancestry, my scanner is no longer working (over exhausted). 😦

Below is a transcription of a newspaper article published in the Morning Post – 7 August 1845 regarding the death of my 4x great-grandfather ‘Thomas Bean’, who was horrifically killed by a horse.

A Man Killed By a Horse

Yesterday forenoon an inquest was held by Mr Wakley, M.P., at the Middlesex Hospital, on the body of Thomas Bean, aged fifty-two, a farm servant to the Rev. John Gray, of Whembley-park, near Harrow. The deceased, who had been in the employ of the above-named gentleman for some years, occasionally acted in the capacity of carter. On Saturday night last, about nine o’clock, he was proceeding through Harrow towards the farm with a cart-load of hay, drawn by two horses, when in descending Denham-hill, which is rather steep, the fore horse was running away, and deceased to check it’s progress laid hold of the bridle. The suddenness of the jerk caused the horse to turn it’s head sharply round, and by so doing deceased was knocked down and falling under the animals feet it kicked and trampled on him several times. An inhabitant of the village at the moment came along in his cart, into which he lifted deceased, and was conveyed to the above hospital, when it was found that six of his ribs were broken and his left blade bone literally smashed, added to which he had sustained some severe contusions on the head. He died on Sunday evening. Mr Gray’s bailiff, and others having spoken to the quite and docile character of the horse which inflicted the injuries on the deceased. the Jury returned a verdict of “Accidental death”.

Source: Morning Post – 7 August 1845

From the Morning Post. Killed by a horse - Thomas Bean - Date of Death: 3 August 1845. Date article was published: 7 August 1845

From the Morning Post.
Killed by a horse – Thomas Bean – Date of Death: 3 August 1845.
Date article was published: 7 August 1845

14 thoughts on “Killed by a Horse

    • That is dedication and addiction lol 🙂 it doesnt include all of my subscriptions, translation services, archive folders, travel costs, downloads, books etc…
      I dread to think how much I have spent in total. Money spent well though 🙂
      Hope your research is coming along well Ania 🙂

  1. “it doesnt include all of my subscriptions, translation services, archive folders, travel costs, downloads, books etc…” Why not blog about it Stephen?

    I’m still rather flitting from one person to another really and trying to go though the never ending Ancestry hints.

  2. I am less willing to share documents that I have spent money on these days. I would much rather write my stories, using the documentation, and share the finished product. Too many people take stuff without giving proper attribution these days, and most are just hoarders of information.

    • I totally agree, I do get the odd thank you on Ancestry (which I appreciate) but there are many people happy to take your information without sharing in return. I have uploaded thousands of documents and images to Ancestry over the years, but like I said in my post; I very rarely find anyone contributing to the branches.
      I love it when I take on research challenges with others, sadly they are few and far between.
      Hope your own research is coming along well, and have a lovely New Year 🙂

  3. Another gruesome death! Yikes!

    As for what people do on ancestry, don’t get me started. Finding my relatives on totally unrelated trees? Errors that are so obvious like children born before their parents were teens? Ugh. I’ve learned never to trust a tree unless it is well sourced.

    • I totally agree, I have been working through my tree for the last year adding all my sources, which I used to be dreadful at doing in the past. Re-checking all my info as I go.
      And along the way, I have stumbled upon some dreadful trees. People even combine info from severel very trees to make one. You can imagine how embarrassing and awful these trees must look.
      I think these must belong to people who have no real interest in genealogy, but just tempted into it by tv programmes. They clearly have no idea what they are doing.
      Such a shame.

      • Exactly…and then other people just copy THOSE trees. That’s how bad history is created—-like a bad game of telephone (do they play that game in England?)

      • Lol, we dont play that game, but im sure its like chinese whispers. Where something is changed as it moves along the line 🙂 and very true 🙂
        I had one researcher contact me a while back about an elderly ancestor who apparently jumped on a ship and died in the american civil war. Basically somebody had combined a british tree with an american one. Lol

      • That is too funny!! Yes, telephone is a similar children’s game. You sit in a circle, one person whispers something in the first person’s ear, then it gets passed around the circle, and at the end the last person says out loud what they heard. It was always fun AND educational!

Leave a Reply

