Edward II Coin – 1307 – 1327

Good Evening WordPress, I hope everyone’s Christmas shopping is coming along well. πŸ™‚
My apologies for not posting to my blog recently and more importantly not reading your own posts. For the last month or so, I have been unwell and have had to undergo a few tests. I suffer from Asthma and as I have got older, it’s gradually worsened. Tiredness, Fatigue, Chest Pain, Awful Cough. I am currently only able to use 49% of my lung capacity and it’s certainly taking its toll running around after a four year old, even though I get lots of pleasure out of it :-). Like Yhana would say “Love her to the moon and back”.
I am also waiting to be tested for a condition that is hereditary in my family, Pulmonary embolism. My mum recently had a close encounter with this, and it also took the life of my Great Grandfather. One of the good things about genealogy is that we can identify health problems that exist in our family and take the necessary precautions.

Apart from this, I hope everybody is well and looking forward to Christmas. This will be the first year that my little girl really believes in Santa, and I have already heard her talking to him in her bedroom. So I’m very much looking forward to Christmas day. πŸ™‚

I thought I would write a little post today about a medieval artifact I have recently bought. I have always loved museums and looking at the items through a sheet of glass is never close enough for me. I would love to be one of those privileged few that get to handle those items.
So I thought, well why not add a few to my own collection and family history archive.

image

image

C. 1307 -1327
King Edward II
England medieval Period Silver Half Penny Coin

This coin is a British metal detecting find and measures 16.0 mm in Diameter and weighs 0.54 grams. The item is about 700 years old, I always find it incredible how artifacts can last so long in the ground and I have always had an interest in medieval and early antiquities and only recently decided to start collecting a few items, or more importantly items that relate to my distant ancestry.

This is the first item to be added to this collection, and it’s the oldest thing I have ever had the privilege of holding.

13 thoughts on “Edward II Coin – 1307 – 1327

  1. I have wondered whether you were okay. I am sorry to hear about your health issues and hope you can get everything under control soon so that you can enjoy your holiday with your beautiful little girl and your whole family.

    • Thank You Amy, these last few weeks have been a little difficult, but I’m on steroids to help boost my lungs a little. This damp English weather doesn’t help much 😦 but im looking forward to Christmas and looking forward to the New Year πŸ™‚ sending a friendly hug from England πŸ™‚

  2. I am very sorry to hear about your health. I wish you and yours a very happy Christmas and I hope you find out something you can do about your health. Enjoy your little one πŸ™‚ And I love the coin by the way – so neat!

  3. I am sorry to hear that you haven’t been feeling well. I trust you get the answers you require.
    Enjoy Christmas through the eyes of your daughter. It is a magical time when the children are young and it is over too soon.
    What a wonderful piece of history for you to own as well. I love old things and gain great pleasure from them and I have no doubt you will enjoy this coin as much as I enjoy my old teacups. πŸ™‚
    Have a wonderful Christmas.

    • Thank you for a lovely message πŸ™‚
      I am very much looking forward to Christmas, I think this year is going to be very special. πŸ™‚
      I love old things too and I am always on the lookout for items connected to my ancestry.
      Have a wonderful Christmas too πŸ™‚

  4. Stephen
    Be careful. Once you start buying old coins and artifacts you get hooked. I have an Edward III penny myself. It was the first of a number of purchases that I am now trying to wean myself from. Cheers.
    Jim

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ I love collecting old artifacts and your right it can be very addictive. I especially love looking at crosses and I may add a few to my collection πŸ™‚ especially those that pre-date the 17th century. Something very humble and spiritual about them.

Leave a Reply

