Despenser Family Tree

A lot of my posts recently have been showcasing 47 generations of my family history, you can view an index for these generations here.

Currently I have reached generation 16, and this post is dedicated to my 15th great-grandfather Robert Maye (1470 – after 1512)

Generation 17 will cover John ‘of Melsham’ Maye (abt 1430 – after 1470) and I will be posting this soon, but before I do, I would like to introduce you to John Maye’s maternal family ‘The Despensers’.

The family descend from Royalty and were Royal favourites, lovers of Kings, Executed, Fought in Battles, despised and loved. The Despenser’s are an interesting family in English history and a dark, compelling, interesting branch of my family history and the shared ancestors of millions of people alive today.

Below is their family tree.

Despenser Family Tree 1159 - 1500 Descendants of Thomas 'of Arnesby & Burton' le DESPENSER (1159 - 1207)

Despenser Family Tree
1159 – 1500
Descendants of
Thomas ‘of Arnesby & Burton’ le DESPENSER (1159 – 1207)

2 thoughts on “Despenser Family Tree

    • From reading your posts, I have noticed we share the same ancestors. 🙂 Once our trees pass that gateway ancestor, history opens up, and I am still adding my medieval ancestors, there are so many off them.

Leave a Reply

