My Family Connection to Calamity Jane

My Family Connection to Calamity Jane

This weekend I went to watch the stage adaptation of the hit musical ‘Calamity Jane’, theatre is one of my biggest passions and Calamity Jane is a musical I grew up on, so it’s one of my all time favourites. As a result I also have a soft spot for Doris Day, her movies and her music.
When I got home that evening I got thinking as to whether or not I have a distant connection to the real life Martha Jane Canary (alias; Calamity Jane). So I started by searching her online biographies, Wikipedia, Online Trees and Ancestry Trees. There are a few mistakes on Ancestry as some people have claimed she descends from King Henry VII, But a closer look at his family revealed that these trees have attributed a grand-daughter that didn’t exist.
I did find a connection through my Owen / ap Tudor branch, I double checked each of her generations and cross referenced them with reliable sources, there were lots of them as she descends from a Scottish branch of Douglas and this line has been well researched.

Below is my family connection to Calamity Jane, she is my 16th cousin 1x removed. Calamity descends from the second eldest son of Sir Owain Tudor (1400 – 1461), Jasper ‘Earl of Pembroke’ TUDOR (1431 – 1495) and I descend from the youngest Sir David Owen (1459 – 1542). There is nearly a 30 year gap between these children and by the time the matching generations reach Calamity and my grandmother Joyce Margery Plaskett the gap has stretched further to 100 years. At first it looks as though there might be a missing generation or two (on my line), but this branch is well researched so I guess over the centuries the generations have just widened.

My Family Connection to Calamity Jane. Calamity Jane Family Tree.

My Family Connection to Calamity Jane.
Calamity Jane Family Tree.

Below is a small collection of movie posters and Images relating to the real life Calamity Jane and the musical.

Calamity Jane Musical starring Jodie Prenger

Calamity Jane Musical starring Jodie Prenger

Calamity Jane Movie Poster, starring Doris Day

Calamity Jane Movie Poster, starring Doris Day

James Butler Hickok (May 27, 1837 – August 2, 1876)—known as "Wild Bill" Hickok. Source: Wikipedia

James Butler Hickok (May 27, 1837 – August 2, 1876)—known as “Wild Bill” Hickok.
Source: Wikipedia

Martha Jane Canary or Cannary (May 1, 1852 – August 1, 1903), better known as Calamity Jane. Source: Wikipedia

Martha Jane Canary or Cannary (May 1, 1852 – August 1, 1903), better known as Calamity Jane.
Source: Wikipedia

4 thoughts on “My Family Connection to Calamity Jane

  1. What fun! I am starting to think that everyone with English roots is related to each other if you go back far enough! Are you related to any of the Beatles (getting to MY teen idols!)?

    • To be honest with you, I have not thought about looking at the Beatles, but I might do now 🙂
      These links are just a bit of fun really, they don’t mean anything because they are so distant, but it’s nice to take myself away from my full on research and have a little play looking at connections. :-), that’s how I stumbled upon Bette’s connection with the Cohen’s, I’m a big fan of Bette Midler’s, (so had a look at her tree) but her ancestors are Jewish I think.

Leave a Reply

