7 Days to War, The Story of John George Woods

It’s been a while since I wrote an update about the progress of my first family history book, and thought I would take the opportunity to do so tonight.

For those who have missed my previous posts; I have been working on a non-profit book dedicated to the life of my great grand-uncle who died on the 26th April 1915, during World War One. The book will be archived in libraries and distributed between family members and depending on how happy I am with the finished work, I may even decide to digitize this biography and hopefully reach a larger audience as an e-book.

For the last month or so I have been waiting for a commissioned painting which I am hoping to use for the books jacket cover, The work is due to be completed at the end of the month which I am very much looking forward to seeing, I will be showcasing this painting on WordPress once it arrives.

I still have one last chapter to write for the book before my first draft is completed, although this last chapter is on hold whilst I await for a personal war diary to be digitized for my personal use, and if the diary helps with the books progress then I will need permission to use its contents.

I have also decided on a book’s title, ‘7 Days to War, The Story of John George Woods’, although the Gemini in me may decide to change his mind at the last-minute :-).

Below is a short video which I originally shared on Facebook and with family, showcasing what I am doing and hopefully get them interested. I have had some wonderful words of encouragement from them.

6 thoughts on “7 Days to War, The Story of John George Woods

    • To be honest with you I’m not sure. As far as I’m aware they pretty much all enlisted. This may be the reason why ww2 miners received exception. Especially if the low coal levels caused huge nationwide problems in ww1, I guess the country learned a valued lesson by the time ww2 broke out.

  1. Your book sounds very interesting, Stephen, not just to family members. I’m intrigued to see the details you have of the Seven Days. Good luck with the countdown to publication.

Leave a Reply

