The Last Will & Testament of William Minterne Esquire of Thorpe – 1st June 1625

Wills, Administrations and Inventories
of The Mintern Family
of Hook, Chedington and Batcombe, Dorset
The Last Will & Testament of William Minterne Esquire of Thorpe – 1st June 1625

Document Description: The Last Will & Testament of William Minterne Esquire of Thorpe

Will Dated: 1st June 1625
Will Proved: 2 August 1627

Archive: The National Archives of the UK (TNA), Kew,
incorporating the Public Record Office (PRO)
and the Historical Manuscripts Commission (HMC).

Records of the Prerogative Court of Canterbury (PCC)
– Will Registers

Archive Catalogue Ref. PROB 11/152

Transcribed by Trudy Norbury – August 26th 2014
[Lines as in original document, also spelling and abbreviations]

The Mintern manuscripts is out of copyright, but the compilation, the annotation and the textual, editorial, and introductory matter are the copyright of the editors, whose work should be acknowledged in any quotation or reproduction of this work.


William Minterne of Thorpe is my 11th Great Granduncle

Page One

In the name of God Amen I William Minterne of //
Thorpe in the Countie of Surrey Esquier beings of perfect mynde [mind] and remembrance ˜˜//
thankes be to god Foreseeinge the certainetie of death, and the incertainetie of theou //
hower [hour] thereof and beings desireous soe to dispose and setle my temporall of fate estate yet undisposed //
of, and that my mynde maie [(may]) not be withdrawen from the wyfull meditation of a better life //
whensoever it shall please god to send the daie ([day]) of my dissolution This first daie of June ˜//
1625. I doe make ordaine and declare this my last will and testament in manner and forme ˜˜//
following. First I Commende my Soule unto the hands of allmightie god which gave it hopinge //
of my salvation through the mercrrie and onelie merritts and passion of my Saviour Christ ˜//
Jesus My bodie I leave to the earth from where it was taken therein to be decentlie ˜˜//
buried in a comfortable hope a joyefull resurrection and whereas I have purchased deeds //
landesed tenements and hereditaments to me and to my heires of the Cohieres of Sir John //
Wholley knight deceased, Aand of divers others which I have not yett assured or settled. I give //
and dervise those landes in Burgham Stoke and Worplesdon in the said Countie of Surrey //
to Wilfred Mistress Marie Wolley the reputed daughter of Sir Francis Wolley Kinghte deceased //
when the she shall attaine the age of one and twentie yeares, and to the heires of her bodies ˜ //
lawfullie begotten And for lack of such issue____ to my grandchilde Wolley Leigh and to his //
heiieres forever Soe that the saide Marie Wolley doth within three monethes after the //
shall attaine the age of one and twentie yeares make unto my grandchildren Wolley //
Leigh and Francis Leigh a sufficient release such as their Councell shall dervesisde for //
the releasinge of the in the provisoes last will of the said Sir Francis Wolley deceased //
and not otherwise. Item I give and devise all the rest of my Landed Testaments and //
hereditaments whatforever and whereforever they Ldye and be (Except such landesd Leases //
hereditaments goodes chattells and Legacies which I shall hereafter by this my will dispose //
of) to Wolley Leigh my grandchilde, and to the hieres males of his bodie lawfully be-be= //
gotten and for lack of such ___ issue to my grandchilde Francis Leigh and to the heires males //
of his bodie lawfullie begotten and for lack of such ___ issue to the right heires of me the //
said William Minterne forever. And whereas I have purchased of Sir Francis Leigh //
knight the Mannors of Puttenham Bury and Puttenham Priorye in the foresaide Countie //
of Surrey to the use of my self for life, and afterwards to the use of my grandchilde //
Francis Leigh and to the heires males of his bodie lawfullie to be begotten, And for ˜ //
default of such issue__ to the right heires of me the said William Minterne forever, as //
appeareth by one Indenture of Bargaine and sale whose date is the 11th daie of February //
in the two and twentieth yeare of the raigne of our late soveraigne Lord Kinge James //
Betweene the said Sir Francis Leigh of the one part, and me the said William Minterne //
of the other part. My will and meaninge is that my said grandchild Francis Leigh shall //
have the same landes, And I doe hereby give the same unto him, and to the heires, Males //
of his bodie accordinge to the uses promises, agreements, Revocacons and limit a cons [limitations]____ ˜ //
therein expressed. And whereas I have heretofore by my deed or deedes settled & assllured //
deeds Leasesd and termes for yeares in deeds landed tenements and hereditaments to the said //
Wolley Leigh and Francis Leigh my grandchildren, and to the heires of their two ˜ //

Page Two

Severall bodies in such sorte as by saide deede and deedesd maie appeare but have left //
the disposings of the residue of those termes or leases (if the saide Wolley Leigh and Francis //
Leigh should happen to dye without issue of their bodies, as my hope and praier for them is //
they maie not during those paid termes.) I doe move herebynowe declare hereby that the residue or re- //
maider of those leases or termes, or somes of money if anie [any] shall happen to be shalbe and //
remayne, unto such person or persons as at that time shalbe next and right heire at the //
common SonneLawe unto me. Item I give and bequeath unto my grandchilde Wolley Leigh ˜ //
my seale of Bromhall with all my estate therein. But if the said Wolley Leight shall //
happen to dye before he doth attaine the age of one and twentie years duringe the terme //
of the said lease, then and immediatlie after his death I give and bequeath the residue //
of my terme in that lease of Bromhall unot my Nnephew John Minterne of Thorpe //
and to his assignes. The proffitt of which lease and all other my landesd leases and ˜˜˜ //
hereditainments which doth or should come unto my grandchildren Wolley Leigh and ˜˜ //
Francis Leight, my will and desire is duringe their minorities, the rents and proffttitts //
thereof as the same shall fall due and payeable be delievered and paide unto my worthie ˜ //
friendes Sir Thomas Coventry knighte his Majesty’sster Attorney generall, to be imployed for ˜˜ //
their use asnd himself shall thinke best for their good. Item I will and bequeath unto ˜ //
my lovinge brother Henrie Minterne And unto his oldestFirst sonne John Minterne And unto //
Christopher Masters the Seale of Mythehorf in the Countie of Dorsett for seven years ˜ //
which I have made in trust unto Mister Masters and Mr LSewes according to a power preferredReserved in//
my self when I freelie settled those landed on my eldest brother and his heirs as by the deedes //
thereof bearinges date the twelveth daie of Februarie 1626 doth appeare. The profit of Masterwhich //
LSeale my desire is shalbe devided between them three respecticvelie ( Except theirs two somes ˜˜//
followinge vidst I five out of that LSeasle to Mr Lionell VansinsRawlens twentie poundes. And //
I give out of that LSeasle to Mr John JerredLewes Twentie poundes, which Fortie pounds I ˜˜ //
would have paid them within twelve months after my decease, out of that LSeasle. Item I give //
and bequeath unto the said John Mynterne my nephewes sonne of my Brother Henrie my ˜ //
LSeasle of Chartley Wharffe which I brough of Sir Francis Wolley with all my estates ˜ //
therein. Item I give and bequeath unto my loving wife Bridgett Minterne during her widdowhood //
the thirdes partes of the Tythe of Thorpe Parsonage for her provision of housekeepings. Item I //
give unto my Grandchilde Wolley Leigh the suite of hangings which are used in the Parlor //
of Thorpe. Item I give unto my grandchilde Francis Leigh, my silver bason and Ewer ˜˜ //
which have my armes engraven thereon with all such household Stuffe, Plate and other utensils //
of household as were removed from Sholand to Thorpe, when Mr Parkington entered at Sholand, //
to be delivered him at his age of one and twentie years. Item I give and bequeath unto //
my worthie friendes followinge. To Mr Justice Doddrige Five poundes in gould. To Master Baron //
Dinham Five poundes in gould. To my best friende Mistres Moore a Dyamond of Tenne pounds //
To my ladie Jane Leigh Five poundes. To my loving Sister Mistress Foye Tenne pounds, To my //
good friende Master Coine, my owne Rydinge Geldinges. To my Amiriousnncient aquanitance Master Rire //
Kelwaine a ringe. Item my will and meanings is whatsfoerver shalbe given awaisawaie by me in a ˜ //
CGodicrill hereunto annexed it shalbe and effectuall, as if it weare written in the bodie of this my will //
Item my will and meaninges for such Legacies or debts which shalbe due or given by me shalbe //
received and taken out of the rents of Nuttenham as they fall due except I shall take anie other order //
hereafter for the payment of them, Alsoe If either of my grandchildren shall happen to dye ˜˜ //
before their age of one and twentie yeares that then their personal l estate shall comewine to the //
survivor of them Aalsoe my desire is that my wief doth make over her Coppihold land at Sunbury, //
to Francis Leigh within three monthes after my decease, Reservinge her estate for her owns //
lieffe according to her promise made unto me. Item I give unto the poore of Batcome in ˜˜ //
Dorsett Fortie shillings. Item to the poore of Thorpe Fortie Shillinges. And of this my last //
will I make and ordaine my welbeloved wife Bridgett Minterene. And my grandchilde Wolley //
Leigh my exerutors. Alsoe I doe desire and appoint my said worthie good friend Sir Thomas Coventrye //
knight to be guardian to my grandchildren, Wolley Leigh and Francis Leigh Duringe thiere //

Page Three

Minorities of the estate I leave unto them And I doe hereby give unto the saide Sir Thomas//
Coventrye 100 poundsC— And I doe further intreats the saide Sir Thomas Coventrye and Sir Robert Health //
knighte to be Overseers of this my last will giving the saide Sir Robert Heath Tenne poundes //
not doubting but that my executors wilbe wholie ruled by them. Item I doe hereby revoake all ˜ //
former wills by me made. In wittnes of this is to be my last will I have written it all with my //
owne hand and have hereunto lett my hand and seale the daie and year about written Memorance morander//
the 100 pounds – was interlynded by my self to be paide Willm Minterne. And published this to be my //
last will in the Presence of Hen : Myllett Rogr : Thynnesoo, George LaurenDauren. To my Servants ˜ //
videt Roger Twynhoe 2 pounds——- j [1] shillings 0 pence To Lawrence Cannon 0 pounds j [ 1] shillings 0 pence—————– To Andrew Hunirst ˜ //
Five poundes to George DLauren Three poundes Five Shillings eight pence. To Thomas Faye //
Five pounds. To ould Captaine Brooks five pounds thirtheene shillinges and foiverseven pence. To anie //
othere manservant at the time of my death twentie shilllinges. To everie maidservant twentie //
shillinges. The gift of my land in Bingham to Mistress Marie Wolley was revoaked and Stroken //
out by my self in the first lseasle because I found my self in debt, which will paie ddl [1050] pounds— of my //
debpt by a GerrttDecree. W. M./
Probate 2nd Aug 1625

The Last Will & Testament of William Minterne Esquire of Thorpe - 1st June 1625 - Page 1

The Last Will & Testament of William Minterne Esquire of Thorpe – 1st June 1625 – Page 1

The Last Will & Testament of William Minterne Esquire of Thorpe - 1st June 1625 - Page 2

The Last Will & Testament of William Minterne Esquire of Thorpe – 1st June 1625 – Page 2

The Last Will & Testament of William Minterne Esquire of Thorpe - 1st June 1625 - Page 3

The Last Will & Testament of William Minterne Esquire of Thorpe – 1st June 1625 – Page 3

Leave a Reply

