One Lovely Blog Award

lovely-blog-award-1

Recently I was nominated by a fellow Blogger for the One Lovely Blog Award, I would like to thank Amy – Brotmanblog: A Family Journey for acknowledging and thinking of my blog, it took me by surprise especially as I don’t post as often as I would like. The smallest amount of kindness goes a long way and I have spoken to Amy here on WordPress many times and she has bundles of kindness, so a very BIG thank you.

The One Lovely Blog Award nominations are chosen by fellow bloggers and it’s a good way to recognize up and coming blogs and to show your appreciation for the work you are reading.

In order to “accept” the award the nominated blogger must follow several guidelines.

The guidelines for the One Lovely Blog Award are:
•Thank the person who nominated you for the award.
•Add the One Lovely Blog Award logo to your post and/or blog.
•Share 7 unknown facts/or things about yourself.
•Nominate 15 bloggers you admire and inform nominees by commenting on their blog.


7 Facts about Me

i) I am an avid theater goer and watch anything between 50 – 100 West End Shows a year.

ii) My favorite musical film is Calamity Jane.

iii) My favorite author is Anne Rice.

iv) I am a Gay Dad / legal guardian of my 3-year-old niece.

v) I was once fired from a job due to my sexual orientation and for that reason I am an active Union representative for  USDAW and help support others who are treated wrongly in the work place.

vi) I Once raised £5000 for the 2004 Tsunami Earthquake Fund, through the publication of a book.

vii) I am always concerned about what’s happening in the world, and wish people would treat others kinder.


Blogs I admire – I have chosen ten of my favorite Blogs, all though this is not an exhaustive list, there are many I enjoy reading for various reasons.

It Goes on

Brotmanblog: A Family Journey

Genealogy With Valerie

TheGenealogyGirl

Theatre Therapy

My People in History

Genealogy Lady

The Family Kalamazoo

Mermaidcamp

Wandering Through My Roots

13 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award

  1. Stephen,

    Thank you very much for the nomination. I appreciate it very much, and am flatted that you think so highly of my blog. I made the decision after my first year of blogging that I would no longer participate in blog awards.

    It is wonderful to learn more about you, and as my Bachelor degree is in theatre arts I am very jealous that you get to see so many plays!

    Thank you!
    Deborah, a.k.a. Genealogy Lady

    • Hi Deborah, you are very welcome.
      Theatre and Genealogy are two of my favourite things 🙂
      There has been some incredible plays on stage in recent years and when I get to watch a piece of historical work it combines both of my interests.
      I look forward to reading more of your posts 🙂

      • My daughter and I were able to see The Cripple of Inishman in NYC this summer with Daniel Radcliffe.
        If I lived there or in London, we would definitely see more. 🙂
        Genealogy and Theatre is a great combo!

      • The Cripple of Inishman is incredible and it also just happens to be written by Martin McDonagh who is my partners sister-in-law’s, cousin.
        My little claim to fame. 🙂

      • Wonderful! Let him know that we enjoyed it! I spent a year studying Irish literature and poetry in university, and then took a trip out to the Aran Islands. I generally love anything that has to do with Ireland in plays and theatre. 🙂

  2. Thank you, Stephen, for your kind words about me. I am with you—kindness goes a long way to making all of our lives better. And I love your seven things. I look forward to checking out the blogs you listed.

Leave a Reply

