The Last Will and Testament of William Draper, Yeoman of Haselbury – (1495 – 1560)

Wills, Administrations and Inventories
of The Mintern Family
of Hook, Chedington and Batcombe, Dorset

William Draper, Yeoman of Haselbury Plucknett, Somerset is my 14th great grand Uncle and a Kinsman to the Mintern Family of Batcombe, Dorset. He was born about 1495 and was the Son of Richard and Agnes Draper. William had no children so his lands, property and wealth passed to his cousin, Richard Draper and his brother Hugh Draper’s children.

Document Description: Will of William Draper, Yeoman of Haslebury, Somerset

Will dated: 15-April-1559
Will proved: 24-May-1560

Archive: The National Archives of the UK (TNA), Kew,
incorporating the Public Record Office (PRO)
and the Historical Manuscripts Commission (HMC).

Records of the Prerogative Court of Canterbury (PCC)
– Will Registers

Archive Catalogue Ref. PROB 11/43/346

PCC Register: register name: Mellershe
folio: 242-243 (3 pages)

Transcribed July 2014 by: Transcription Services Ltd
http://www.transcriptionservicesltd.com

(I would like to thank Transcription Services Ltd, for the transcription of this document and it’s final presentation)

The Mintern manuscripts is out of copyright, but the compilation, the annotation and the textual, editorial, and introductory matter are the copyright of the editors, whose work should be acknowledged in any quotation or reproduction of this work.

o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o

[folio] 242
[folio] 242
T[estamentum] Will[el]mi
Draper ./

1. In the name of God Amen : The xvth [15th] daye of Aprill in the yere of ow[r] Lorde
2. God a thowsand five hundreth fifty and nyne and in the firste yere of ower soveraigne Ladie Elizabethe by
3. the grace of god of Englonde Fraunce and Irelonde Quien deffendo[r] of the faithe &c – I Will[ia]m Draper
4. of Haselbury in the Countie of Somerset yoman beinge whole of mynde and in good and parfect remembrance
5. thank[es] be to god do make and ordaine this my presente Testamente concerninge therin my Laste Will in mane[r]
6. and forme followinge, that ys to saye Firste I commende and bequeath my Sowle to allmightie god & my
7. boddy to be buried in the churche of Haselbare wheras my fathers Tumbe ys . Item I give and bequeath unto
8. the highe Alter of the saide Churche of Haselbare, In considerac[i]on of my tythes and offering[es] neccligently or
9. forgotten in the discharge of my Sowle xxs [20s] . Item I give and bequeathe unto the Churche of Sainte Andrew
10. in Welles xijd [12 d = 1s] . Item I give and bequeathe unto the parrishe of Haselbare to be employed unto godd[es] hono[r]
11. and glorye one Cope of blacke velvet and also one hole sute of vestment[es] of White satten of bridges1 which
12. sayde ornementes yf the Lawes of this Realme permitt any suche kinde of ornament[es] to be used in the Church
13. shalbe delivered after the deceace of me. Item I give and bequeathe unto the parrishe howse of Haselbare afor
14. sayed my greatest brasen pott . Item I give and bequeath . Item I give and bequeath unto the parrishe of
15. of [sic] North P[er]rotte to be ymployed to godd[es] hono[r] and s[er]rvis one Challis of silve[r] parcell gilte2 Whiche challis
16. shalbe delivered yf the Lawes of this realme doe permitte after the deceace of me . Item I give and bequeathe
17. unto the Churche of Crockethorne xs [10s] . Item I give and bequeathe to the Churche of Blackedon xs [10s] . Item I give

1 satten of bridges – a satin mixture of silk and linen, originally from Bruges and used mainly as a furnishing fabric
2 parcell gilt – silver partly gilded, usually on the inner surface of a cup, bowl, etc.

18. and bequeath unto the Churche of Hardingeton vjs viijd [6s 8d = ½ a mark3] Item I give and bequeath unto the Churche of
19. Meriott iijs iiijd [3s 4d = ¼ mark] . Item I give and bequeath unto the Churche of Mydle Chinoke [Chinnock] iijs iiijd [3s 4d = ¼ mark] . Item I give & bequeath
20. unto the Churche of Estchinoke [East Chinnock] iijs iiijd [3s 4d = ¼ mark] . Item I doe ordaine and appointe by this my present testamente &
21. laste Will that there shalbe delivered unto my Cosen Richarde Drape[r] or his childe iiij [4] mylche ky[n]e [cows] whiche
22. iiij [4] milcheky[n]e shall allwayes remaine unto the neerest and the nexte of my kynn which are of the name of
23. Draper unto this order and use as followethe that is to saye To maintaine fowe[r] wax tapers continually to
24. burne perpetuall in the Churche of Haselbar as often as my masse or other devine s[er]rvis shalbe songe or
25. sayed one of the saide tapers to burne before the blessed Sacrament and sett in the place accustomed before
26. the picture of Sainte Mychaell th’archeangell, The seconde taper to burne before the picture of ower
27. Blessed Ladye in the sayde Chauncell the third Taper to burne before the picture of Sainte Wolfride [Wilfrid], the
28. fowerth taper to burne before the picture of Sainte Erasmus. And yf the saide Richard Drap[er] or his childe
29. or any other of my kindred do neclecte or refuse thus to doe, that then my Will ys by this my present test[a]m[ent]
30. that the saide iiij [4] milche kyne shall remayne unto the parrishe of Haselbare, and the Wardens of th[e] sayde

3 mark: A measure of account accepted throughout western Europe as equivalent to 8 oz. of silver (no coins known as Marks ever circulated in England). In England a mark was two-thirds of a pound or 13s. 4d.

– – –

[folio 242 verso]

31. Churche to accomplishe and fullfill this my saide Will and ordina[n]ce as ys aforesaide. Provided allwayes
32. that yf this my order and Will be not agreable unto the Lawe of this Realme of Englonde, and that the saide
33. Lawe will in no wyse permitte and suffer no suche kynde of order to be contained that then my Will is that
34. there shalbe yerely bestowed and employed upon the mainten[a]nce of the high waye betwixt the greate bridge

35. on th’est side of Chinoke [Chinnock] and Crukern [Crewkerne] xs [10s] of laufull money by the handes of the aforesaide Richarde Draper o[r]
36. his Childe or the nexte of my kynn or the parrishe Wardens of Haselbare, to whome hit shall so happen the
37. saide iiij [4] milche kyne to come, and when the lawes of this realme do happen to permitte any suche order again
38. as ys aforesaide to be used, that then my Will ys that my firste order and Will ys to be frequented and used
39. accordinge as hit is above sayed, and so to remaine perpetually . Item I give and bequeathe unto the said Rich=
40. charde Draper after the deceace of me, iij [3] kyne . Item I give and bequeath to Thomas Draper after the de=
41. ceace of me iij [3] ky[n]e . Item I give and bequeath unto John Drape[r] after the deceace of me iij [3] ky[n]e . Item I give, &
42. bequeath to Will[ia]m Drap[er] the Sonne of John Draper after the deceace of me one pece of silve[r] p[ar]cell gilte
43. Item I give and bequeathe unto Fraunc[es] Draper the Sonne of the aforesaide John Draper after the deceace
44. of me one White pece of silver . Provided that yf hit happen these too children Will[ia]m and Fraunc[es] do dep[ar]t
45. this presente Lyef before they come to the full age of xxij [22] yeres that then my Will ys that the saide plate
46. to remaine unto Richarde Draper and his Laufull heires . And fo[r] lake of suche yssue to remaine to the or
47. t’next kynn of my name ^ It[em] I give and bequeath unto Mr Franc[es] Whittenton after th[e] deceace of me one salte of silv[er] p[ar]cell gilte./ Item I give and bequeathe unto misteres Elizabeth Fowkes after the deceace of
48. me ij [2] kyne . Item I give and bequeath unto Will[ia]m Baker after the deceace of my one Cowe the beste that is
49. at Allwike . And allso a fether bed ij [2] payre of sheet[es] one paire of blanket[es] one wymshyt4 one brasen Croke5
50. the second best and one pann of brasse whiche hathe certaine endes holes in the brym Item I give and
51. bequeathe unto Alice Doles after the deceace of me one heifer of iij [3] yeres age . Item I give and bequeathe to
52. every one of my godchildren xijd [12d = 1s] . Item I give and bequeath unto Izabell Hawkins the doughter of Rob[er]t
53. Hawkins of Crokhorne vjs viijd [6s 8d = ½ mark] . Item I give and bequeath unto Agnes Hawkins vjs viijd [6s 8d = ½ mark] . Item I give

4 wymshyt / wimming-sheet – a sheet upon which corn is winnowed
5 brasen Croke – brass crock – a bellied pot for the purpose of boiling food

54. and bequeath unto Jone Hawkins iijs iiijd [3s 4d = ¼ mark] . Item I give and bequeath unto Alice Hawkins iijs iiijd [3s 4d = ¼ mark] Item
55. I doe appointe and assigne by this my present laste Will and Testamente that my kinsmane Thomas Drap[er]
56. his heires and assignes shall yerely uppon the soundaye before the feaste of the nativitie of ower Lorde god keep
57. one solem Obyte6 for me and others of my Frendes deceaced unto the whiche Obitt I ^ he shall desire v [5] prest[es]
58. whiche shall synge and saye v [5] masses the first to be of owe[r] blessed Lady, the seconde to be of the holly Goste
59. the third to be of the v [5] wowndes7 the iiijth to be of the name of Jesus, and the laste of requiem and shall allso
60. at the saide obbitt delle and distribute penny dole unto every man woman and Childe that doe inhabite
61. and dwell in the parrishe of Haselbare . And also shall rewarde unto every of the saide v [5] preest[es] xijd [12d = 1s]
62. and to the clarke of the Churche fo[r] his due attendance viijd [8d] . And yf hitt happen that the Lawes off
63. this Realme of Englonde do not permitt this my order and Will so to be obcerved and kepte, that then my
64. Will is that the saide Thomas Draper his heires or assignes shall yerely distribute and dole at the tymes
65. accustomed as is above sayed xxs [20s] of Lawfull money whiche xxs [20s] shalbe distributed yerely unto the poore
66. inhabitant[es] and dwellers in the parrishe of Haselbare by the handes of the saide Thomas Draper and to his
67. heires and assignes at the churche dore in the presence of the Churche Wardens of Haselbare aforesaide, &
68. in considerac[i]on hereof I doe give and bequeathe unto the saide Thomas Draper and to his Lawfull heyres
69. and Assignes after the deceace of me All my Landes Lyenge and Beinge in Haselbare Montagne Mudforde
70. and Calcote uppon Poldon . And fo[r] lake of suche Lawfull issue of the saide Thomas Draper that then this
71. my forsaide landes to remaine unto Will[ia]m Draper the Sonne of John Draper . And for lacke of Lawfull issu
72. of hym that then the saide Landes to remaine unto Fraunc[es] Draper his brothe[r] . And fo[r] lacke of yssue of
73. hym to remaine to the next of my kinn beinge of the name of Draper . Provided that if the saide Thom[a]s

6 Obyte / obit – ecclesiastical office, usually a mass, of the pre-Reformation church, performed at the anniversary of a person’s death for the good of his or her soul.
7 There was in the medieval Missals a special Mass in honour of Christ’s Wounds, known as the Golden Mass, During its celebration five candles were always lighted and it was popularly held that if anyone should say or hear it on five consecutive days he should never suffer the pains of hell fire.

74. his heires and assignes or any other of my kynn to whome these my forsaide Landes happen th[u]s come doe
75. not truly obcerve iustly fulfill and kepe all this my orden[a]nce and Will as ys afor[e]saide that then my Will
76. ys by this my present Testamente and laste Will, that the parrish of Haselbare aforesayde, shall professe &
77. enioye all my forsaide Landes and that the Wardens of the saide churche and parrishe shall fulfill, &
78. doe all this my Will and orden[a]nc[es] as ys aforesaide, any thinge in this present Will contained to the
79. contrary notwithstandinge . Item I give and bequeath unto Will[ia]m Draper and his heires the Sonne
80. of John Draper after the deceace of my all my Landes lyenge and beinge in North P[er]rott, and yf th[e] said
81. Will[ia]m do deceace from this presente lyef withoute any laufull issue, that then the saide landes afore
82. sayde to remaine unto Fraunc[es] Draper and his heires, brothe[r] unto the sayde Will[ia]m And for lacke of suche
83. laufull issues of the saide Will[ia]m and Fraunc[es] that then the saide landes to remaine unto Richarde Draper
84. and his laufull heires uncle unto the aforesaide Will[ia]m and Fraunc[es] . And fo[r] lacke of lawfull yssues of the
85. aforesaide named Will[ia]m and Fraunc[es] and Richarde theire uncle that then this my saide landes beinge in
86. in [sic] North P[er]rotte aforesaide to remaine to the next of my kynn that ar of the name of Draper . The residue
87. of all my good[es] landes and Cattall bargaines and debt[es] after my debt[es] payed and my f[u]nerall expenc[es] p[er]furmed
– – –

[folio] 243
[folio] 243

88. and these legac[es] contained in this my present laste Will and testamente fulfilled I Wholy give and bequeathe unto
89. Richard Draper whome I doe ordaine and make my Executor to see me hones[t]ly and decently broughte in th’erth & this
90. my present laste Will and testament performed . And of the execuc[i]on I doe ordaine my trustie and welbeloved frend
91. John Walron gent[leman], the Sonne of Humphrey Walron of See in the parrishe of Illmy[n]st[er] gent[leman] to be my Oversear
92. of this my laste Will and testamente, and in considerac[i]on whereof I give and bequeathe unto the said Walron
93. fortie shilling[es] of Laufull money and utterly revoke and adnull all and every other formar Testament[es] Will[es]

94. and Legac[es] bequest[es] Executors and overseers by me in any wyse before this tyme made named Willed and
95. bequeathed And to this present testamente beareth witnes ^ Will[ia]m Roger vicar of estchinoke [East Chinnock] Will[ia]m Dole Willyam
96. Rawles Robarte Hawkins and Thomas Mantell . Memorandum that my Will ys that yf hit please
97. God to caule me from this present lief before that th’afforesaide Will[ia]m Drap[er] and Fraunc[es] Draper the childre[n]
98. of John Drap[er] do come to the full age age [sic] of xxij [22] yeres that then my will ys by this my present testame[n]t
99. that John Draper shall have the Use and occupac[i]on of my aforesaid Land[es] in North P[er]rot to the behoof and
100. use of the aforenamed Will[ia]m and Fraunc[es] . And yf hit happen that the said John Draper do happen to
101. deceace that then the aforesaide named John Wallron to have the use and occupac[i]on of the saide landes in
102. North P[er]roke to the behoof and use of the foresaide Children Will[ia]m and Fraunc[es] as is aforesaide M[emoran]d[um]
103. of all suche debt[es] that is owed unto me Will[ia]m Draper at the makinge of this my present Testamente &
104. Laste Will . In primis my Ladie Sturto xxxli [£30] whereof I doe give unto the saide Lady xli [£10] to th’entent that she
105. shall the better be willinge to paye the rest . ItemMaster Light of Sutton Montagne fowe[r] pownd[es] . /

106. Probatum fui[t] h[uis]mo[d]i Testamentum coram Mag[ist]ro Waltero Haddon Legu[m] Doctore
107. Curi[a]e prerogative Cant[uariensis] Comissario ib[um] apud London vicesimo quarto die mensis Maij Anno Domini mill[es]imo
108. quingentesimo sexagesimo Juramento Thom[a]e Willet procuratoris Richardi Draper Executoris in h[uius]mo[d]i
109. Testamento nomant[o] Cui com[m]issa fuit administrac[i]on &c de bene &c . Ac de pleno Juventario Necnon de vero
110. et plano computo Reddend[o] Ad sancta dei evangelia Jurat./ ~ ~ /

The Last Will and Testament of William Draper of Haselbury - 1560 - page one of document

The Last Will and Testament of William Draper of Haselbury – 1560 – page one of document

The Last Will and Testament of William Draper of Haselbury - 1560 - page three of document

The Last Will and Testament of William Draper of Haselbury – 1560 – page three of document

The Last Will and Testament of William Draper of Haselbury - 1560 - page two of document

The Last Will and Testament of William Draper of Haselbury – 1560 – page two of document

Leave a Reply

