The Last Will and Testament of John Draper, Gent of Haselbury Plucknett 1550 – 1615

Wills, Administrations and Inventories
of The Mintern Family
of Hook, Chedington and Batcombe, Dorset

John Draper was a Kinsman to the Mintern family and my 12x great grandfather

 

Will dated: 17-August-1613
Will proved: 26-June-1615

Archive: The National Archives of the UK (TNA), Kew,
incorporating the Public Record Office (PRO)
and the Historical Manuscripts Commission (HMC).

Records of the Prerogative Court of Canterbury (PCC)
– Will Registers

Archive Catalogue Ref. PROB 11/125/685

PCC Register: register name: Rudd
quire nos: 1-66
folio: 532 (1 page)

Transcribed July 2014 by: Transcription Services Ltd
http://www.transcriptionservicesltd.com

(I would like to thank Transcription Services Ltd, for the transcription of this document and it’s final presentation)

The Mintern manuscripts is out of copyright, but the compilation, the annotation and the textual, editorial, and introductory matter are the copyright of the editors, whose work should be acknowledged in any quotation or reproduction of this work.

o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o

[folio] 532

[folio] 532

T[estamentum] Joh[ann]is
Draper

1. In the name of God Amen : I John
2. Draper of Hasselbeare Plucknett [Haselbury Plucknett] in the Countye of Somers[ett]
gent[leman] beinge
3. sicke of body but of perfect mynde and memorie thanck[es] be unto Allmightie
4. God doe make this my last Will and Testament in Wrightinge the xvijth [17th]
5. daye of August anno D[omi]ni 1613 in manner and forme followinge Firste above
6. all Earthelie thing[es] I com[m]ende my Soule into the handes of the Allmighty
7. God my Maker and Creator and my Body to the Earthe from whence it came
8. Next I doe hereby utterlie revoke all former and other Wills by me made
9. before this tyme Item I doe give and bequeathe to the Churche of Hasselbeare
10. Plucknett aforesayd to be buryed w[ith]in the sayd Churche Six shilling[es] eighte
11. pence Item I give and bequeathe unto my daughter Johane Bragge one Silver
12. Spoone or Six shilling[es] eighte pence in monye. Item I give and bequeathe unto
13. my daughter Margerit Hodges one silver Spoone or Six shilling[es] eighte
14. pence in monye. Item I give unto the Poore people of Hasselbeare Plucknett
15. aforesayd Tenn shilling[es] Item I give and bequeathe unto my Daughter Alice
16. Draper Twenty shilling[es]. The residue of all my Goodes and Chattells (not for=
17. merlye given) I doe give and bequeathe unto my sonne Richard Draper whome I
18. doe make my sole executor of this my last Will and Testament In Wittnes
19. whereof I have hereunto sett my hand and seale the daye and yeare above=
20. sayd, John Draper . Signed sealed and deliv[er]ed in the p[rese]nce of us per me [signed]
21. Jo[hn] Downton Cler[k] : William Willis the m[ar]ke of John Perry Mary Wiseman

22. Probatum fuit Testamentum suprascruptu[m] apud
23. London coram M[agist]ro Thoma[e] Edwards Legu[m] D[o]c[t]ore surrogato ven[er]abilis
24. viri D[omi]ni Johannis Benett Militis Legu[m] etiam D[o]c[t]oris Curi[a]e Prerogative
Cant[uariensis]
25. Mag[ist]ri Custodis sive Com[m]issarij l[egi]time constituti vicesimo sexto die mensis Junij
26. anno D[omi]ni Mill[es]imo sexcentesimo decimo quinto [26 June 1615] Juramento Richardi Draper filij d[i]c[t]i
27. defuncti et executoris in huiu[sm]o[d]i testamento no[m]i[n]ati Cui com[m]issa fuit administratio

MARK: A measure of account accepted throughout western Europe as equivalent to 8 oz. of silver (no coins known as Marks ever circulated in England). In England a mark was two-thirds of a pound or 13s. 4d. ½ a mark = 6s. 8d.

28. omniu[m] et singuloru[m] bonoru[m] Juriu[m] et creditoru[m] euisdem defuncti de bene et fideli[ite]r ad[minist]rand[o]
29. eadem ad sancta dei Evangelia in debita Juris forma iurat ././ Ex[aminatur] [examined]

Will of John Draper, Gentleman of Hazelbury Plunkett, Somerset    Will dated: 17-August-1613  Will proved:  26-June-1615

Will of John Draper, Gentleman of Hazelbury Plunkett, Somerset
Will dated: 17-August-1613
Will proved:
26-June-1615

Leave a Reply

