The Last Will and Testament of Sir John Wolley of Pyrford, Surrey (1541 – 1596)

Introduction

Sir John Wolley of Pirford, Surrey is my 12th great grand uncle and a courtier to the Elizabethan court, his sister Margaret Wolley was married to Sir John Mynterne of Batcombe, Dorset a branch of my family tree I have been researching for the past few months. Sir John Wolley’s will records a William Mynterne as working in his service (servant). It is likely that this refers to his cousin William Mynterne of Thorpe, Surrey.
Wolley’s second marriage was to Lady Elizabeth More (1552-1600) one of Elizabeth I favourite ladies-inwaiting. They had one son’ Sir Francis Wolley who was born about March 1583, London, England.

Sir Francis Wolley was christened on 4 April 1583. The Queen stood godmother, with the Countess of Lincoln, Surrey’s “fair Geraldine”, acting as her proxy, and both Edward Clinton, 1st Earl of Lincoln, and Robert Dudley, 1st Earl of Leicester, personally present at the baptism.

From the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, available online:
Wolley, Sir John (d. 1596), administrator and member of parliament, was the son of John
Wolley, a gentleman of Leigh, Dorset, and Edith, daughter of John Buckler of Causeway,
near Weymouth, Dorset. He was educated at Merton College, Oxford, where he became a
fellow in 1553, and graduated BA on 11 October 1553. He took the degree of MA on 1
July 1557, and supplicated for the degree of DCL on 10 March 1566. He married first
Jane, daughter of William Sanderson; and second, in 1577, Elizabeth (1552–1600), widow
of Richard Polsted (d. 1576) and daughter of the prominent country gentleman Sir William
More (1520-1600) of Loseley, Surrey. Elizabeth and John had at least one son, Francis
(1583–1609), who provided £4000 for a tomb for himself and his parents in St Paul’s
Cathedral.

Sir John Wolley was the Queen’s Latin secretary and a Privy Councillor.

(My relationship to Sir John Wolley)

Sir John ‘of Pirford’ WOLLEY (1541 – 1596)
is my 12th great grand uncle

John ‘of Leigh’ WOLLEY (1480 – )
father of Sir John ‘of Pirford’ WOLLEY and my 13th great grandfather

Margaret WOLLEY (1518 – )
daughter of John ‘of Leigh’ WOLLEY and my 12th great grandmother

Henry ‘the Farmer of Hooke Manor’ MINTERNE (1560 – 1651)
son of Margaret WOLLEY and my 11th great grandfather

Henry ‘the Younger of Hooke’ MINTERNE (1607 – 1684)
son of Henry ‘the Farmer of Hooke Manor’ MINTERNE and my 10th great grandfather

Henry ‘Rector of Chedington’ MINTERN (1660 – 1723)
son of Henry ‘the Younger of Hooke’ MINTERNE and my 9th great grandfather

Samuel MINTERN (1695 – 1746)
son of Henry ‘Rector of Chedington’ MINTERN and my 8th great grandfather

Samuel ‘the younger of Hooke’ MINTERN (1708 – )
son of Samuel MINTERN and my 7th great grandfather

Henry MINTERN (1740 – 1812)
son of Samuel ‘the younger of Hooke’ MINTERN and my 6th great grandfather

Hannah MINTERN (1774 – 1806)
daughter of Henry MINTERN and my 5th great grandmother

Jane BEST (1792 – 1870)
daughter of Hannah MINTERN and my 4th great grandmother

Emma GALE (1829 – 1871)
daughter of Jane BEST and my 3rd great grandmother

Charlotte Anna DISKETT (1866 – 1935)
daughter of Emma GALE and my 2nd great grandmother

Hannah Maud Mabel BARRITT (1890 – 1957)
daughter of Charlotte Anna DISKETT and my 1st great grandmother

Rosie May JANES (1930 – 1997)
daughter of Hannah Maud Mabel BARRITT and my grandmother


 

The Last Will and Testament of Sir John Wolley of Pyrford, Surrey (1541 – 1596)

Document Description:
Will of Sir John Wolley of Pyrford, Surrey

Will dated: 26 February 1595
Will Proved: 13 March 1596

Archive:
The National Archives of the UK (TNA), Kew,
incorporating the Public Record Office (PRO)
and the Historical Manuscripts Commission (HMC).
Records of the Prerogative Court of Canterbury (PCC)
– Will Registers

Archive Catalogue Ref. PROB 11/87/198 Description:

Modern spelling transcript copyright ©2009 Nina Green All Rights Reserved
http://www.oxford-shakespeare.com/

 

 

Testamentum Domini Iohannis Wolley militis

In the name of God, Amen. The six and twentieth day of February in the year of Our
Lord God one thousand five hundred ninety and five, and in the eight and thirtieth year of
the reign of our most gracious Sovereign Lady Elizabeth by the grace of God Queen of
England, France and Ireland, Defender of the Faith etc., I, John Wolley of Pyrford in the
county of Surrey, knight, being of good and perfect memory and calling to mind the
uncertainty of my life here on earth, do make and declare my last will and testament in
manner and form following:
First, I commend my soul into the hands of Almighty God, whom I humbly thank for my
creation and his fatherly providence towards me, rejoicing in his mercies through the
merits of Christ Jesus, mine only Saviour and Redeemer, expecting at his appearance my
part in the resurrection of the righteous;
Item, I will my body to be buried without any pomp, not simply condemning the
solemnity of funerals, but for some just considerations best known to myself;
Item, I will that my debts be truly paid and fully satisfied, my special care being that no
man be defrauded, but that to everyone be yielded that which is his, whether by the sale
of such lands and leases as I have or by such goods and movables as are mine at the
discretion of my executrix and overseers of this my last will or of the survivors or
survivor of them, to whom I give power to make sale of the same so farforth as by this
my last will in writing I may;
Item, I will that my servants hereafter named, viz., Raffe [=Ralph] Latham, William
Mynterne, Hannet Charleton, Thomas Edwardes the bigger, Thomas Edwardes the lesser,
William Cooper, William Swanton, for their faithful and painful service shall be
considered and have recompense according to the will and discretion of my executrix;
All the rest of my goods, chattels, jewels, plate, household stuff and implements of
household, after my debts paid and this my will fulfilled, I give and bequeath to Elizabeth,
my wife, whom I make sole executrix of this my last will and testament;
And I do ordain, make and appoint my very good friends, Sir William More, knight, and
George More, esquire, his son, supervisors of the same, to see the same truly performed
according to the great confidence I do repose in them;
In witness whereof I subscribe hereunto my name the day and year above-written in the
presence of William Baronsdall, George Turnor. J. Wolley.
Memorandum that the day and year above-written, after the signing and testifying of the
abovesaid testament, the said testator did will and bequeath unto his sister, Mrs Elnor
Hardie, a legacy of twenty pounds, and to his servants, Thomas Vowell and Henry
Dulton, ten pounds apiece, and to the Lady Mainwaring a piece of plate of ten pound
value, in the presence and hearing of us, George. George Turnor.

Probatum fuit testamentum suprascriptum apud London Coram Magistro Johanne Hone
Legum doctore Surrogato venerabilis viri magistri Willelmi Lewyn legum Doctoris Curie
Prerogatiue Cantuariensis magistri Custodis sive Commissarij Legitime constituto decimo
Quingentesimo Nonagesimo Quinto Iuramento Richardi Stubbes notarij publici
procuratoris Domine Elizabethe Wolley Relicte et Executricis Cui commissa fuit
administracio &c De bene &c Iurati Examinatus

[=The above-written testament was proved at London before Master John Hone, Doctor
of the Laws, surrogate of the worshipful Master William Lewin, Doctor of the Laws,
lawfully constituted Master, Keeper or Commissary of the Prerogative Court of
Canterbury, on the thirteen day of the month of March in the year of the Lord according
to the course of the English Church the thousand five hundred ninety-fifth by the oath of
Richard Stubbes, notary public, proctor of Lady Elizabeth Wolley, relict and executrix, to
whom administration was granted etc., sworn to well etc. Examined]

Administration of Sir John Wolley’s Last Will and Testament

RM: Quarto Martij iuxta &c 1600 enamauit commissio ffrancisco Woolley filio naturali et
legitimo dicti defuncti ad administrandum bona iura et credita dicti defuncti iuxta tenorem
testamenti huiusmodi per dictam Dominam Elizabetham eius relicta et executricem non
plene administrato [sic?] De bene &c in persona Thome Iles notarij publici procuratoris
sui &c iurati

[=On the fourth of March according etc., 1600, a grant was issued to Francis Wolley,
natural and legitimate son of the said deceased, to administer the goods, rights and credits
of the said deceased according to the tenor of the same testament by the said Lady
Elizabeth, his relict and executrix, not fully administered, sworn to well etc. in the person
of Thomas Iles, notary public, his proctor etc.]

RM: Nono die mensis Novembris Anno Domini 1609 emanuit comissio Domino Georgio
More militi fratri naturali et legitimo Domine Elizabethe Egerton alias Woolly defuncte
nuper Relicte et executricis testamenti dicti Domini Johannis Woolly militis defuncti ad
administrandum bona iura et credita dicti domini Iohannis Woolly defuncti iuxta tenorem
et effectum testamenti huiusmodi tam per prefatam dominam Elizabetham eius relictam
quam per dominum ffranciscum Woolley militem eius filium(?) etiam defunctum non
plene administrata De bene &c iurato

[=On the ninth day of the month of November in the year of the Lord 1609 a grant was
issued to Sir George More, knight, natural and legitimate brother of Lady Elizabeth
Egerton alias Wolley, deceased, late relict and executrix of the testament of the said Sir
John Wolley, knight, deceased, to administer the goods, rights and credits of the said Sir
John Wolley, deceased, according to the tenor and effect of the same testament so by the
forenamed Lady Elizabeth, his relict, as by Sir Francis Wolley, knight, his son, also
deceased, not fully administered, sworn to well etc.]

Reference: PROB 11/87/198 Title: Will of Sir John Wolley of Pyrford, Surrey Date: 13 March 1596 page one

Reference: PROB 11/87/198
Title: Will of Sir John Wolley of Pyrford, Surrey
Date: 13 March 1596
page one

The Last Will and Testament of Sir John Wolley - page two

Reference: PROB 11/87/198 Title: Will of Sir John Wolley of Pyrford, Surrey Date: 13 March 1596 page two

Leave a Reply

