The Last Will and Testament of John Minterne or Mynterne, Gentleman of Batcombe, Dorset – 1631

Wills, Administrations and Inventories
of The Mintern Family
of Hook, Chedington and Batcombe, Dorset

The Last Will and Testament of John Minterne or Mynterne, Gentleman of Batcombe, Dorset
1557 – 1631

Document Description: Will of John Minterne or Mynterne, Gentleman of Batcombe, Dorset

Will dated: 24-February-1630
Will proved: 06-July-1631

Archive: The National Archives of the UK (TNA), Kew,
incorporating the Public Record Office (PRO)
and the Historical Manuscripts Commission (HMC).

Records of the Prerogative Court of Canterbury (PCC)
– Will Registers

Archive Catalogue Ref. PROB 11/160/224
PCC Register:
register name: St. John
quire nos: 69-138
folio: 164 – 164 verso (2 pages)

Transcribed 20th June 2014: Stephen Dawe-Kuta
Transcribed and edited June 2014 by: Transcription Services Ltd
www.transcriptionservicesltd.com

(I would like to thank Transcription Services Ltd, for their help with completing the transcription of this document and it’s final presentation)

The Mintern manuscripts is out of copyright, but the compilation, the annotation and the textual, editorial, and introductory matter are the copyright of the editors, whose work should be acknowledged in any quotation or reproduction of this work.

o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o – o

[folio] 164
[folio] 164
T[estamentum] Johannis
Mynterne ./

  1. In the name of god Amen the xxiiijth [24th] daye
  2. daye [sic] of February 1630 I John Minterne of Batcombe in the Countye of Dors[et] gent[leman] being
  3. in health and p[er]fitt memorie god I give him thank[es] Do ordeyne and make this my last Will
  4. and Testam[ent] in mann[er] and forme following Imprimis [First] I Comitt my soule to god my Redeemer
  5. by whose meritt[es] I hope to be saved my body to be buried in my Ile [aisle] in Batcombe Church
  6. by the North windowe Item I give and bequeath unto Frauncis my wife twenty pound[es]
  7. in gold, and two of my best feather bedd[es] furnished w[i]th two bedstead[es] to be Chosen by
  8. her ^ owne selfe w[i]th all her trunckes and Chest[es] and lynnen in her owne bedchamber or elswhere
  9. in my house Item I give and bequeath unto my said wife one silver boale [bowl] twelve silver
  10. spoones, one silver salt gilt togeather w[i]th such pewter and brasse vessells as she shall
  11. make choice of for her necessarie use in her Chamber I likewise give and bequeath her
  12. Stone my litell mare for her owne use Item I give and bequeath unto John my eldest sonn
  13. my bay geldinge w[i]th all my Armor belonging to my Launce and horse and to every of his
  14. Children tenn shilling[es] Item my will is that no table board[es] formes or stooles of Wallnutt
  15. shall be taken out of the p[ar]lor or hall w[hi]ch my brother Will[ia]m did buy and pay for Item
  16. —-
  17. [folio 164 verso]
  18. I give and bequeath unto Joane Balsto[ne] and her Children twenty one pound Item I give and
  19. bequeath unto Dorathy Harbyn and her Children Fifteene pound Item I give and bequeath
  20. unto Elizabeth Draper and John Drap[er] her brother fower pound equally to bee devided betweene
  21. them Item I give and bequeath unto every of my servant[es] that shalbe dwelling w[i]th me at the
  22. tyme of my decease Fyve shilling[es] over and above their wages to be payd them by my executor
  23. Item I give unto the Church of Batcombe ten shilling[es] and to the poore of the same p[ar]ishe xxs [20s]
  24. All the rest of my good[es] moveable and unmoveable my debt[es] and legacis discharged I geve and be=
  25. queath unto Henry Minterne my youngest sonne whome I ordayne and make my whole and
  26. soale Executor of this my last will and testam[ent]. [signed] Jo[hn] Minterne In wittnesses whereof accordinge
  27. my playne meaning I have hereunto sett my hand and seale the daye and yeare first above
  28. written In the p[re]senc[es] of James Bamfeilde John Hebbard John Balstone./
  29. Probatum fuit testamentum suprascriptum apud London Coram vene[rabi]li
  30. viro Will[el]imo Sames legum doctore Surrogato venerabilis viri Domini Henrici Marten
  31. militis legum etiam doctoris Curiæ Prerogativæ Cantuariensis magistri Custodis sive
  32. Commissarij legitime Constituti Sexto die mensis Julij Anno Domini Millesimo sexcentesimo
  33. Tricesimo Primo [6th July 1631] Juramento Henrici Mynterne filij naturalis et ligitimi dicti defunct[i] et
  34. executoris unicum huiusmodi testamento nominati Cui Commissa fuit administratio omnium
  35. et sinulorum bonorum Jurum et Creditorum dicti defuncti De bene et fideliter administrando
  36. eadem Ad sancta Dei Evangelia in debita Juris forma jurat./ ex[aminatur] [examined]

[The same testament was proved at London before Master William Sames, Doctor of the Laws, Surrogate of the worshipful Master Henry Marten, knight, also Doctor of the Laws, lawfully deputed to exercise the office of Master, Keeper or Commissary of the Prerogative Court of Canterbury, on the sixth day of July in the year of the Lord a thousand six hundred thirty one by the oath of Henry Mynterne natural and legitimate son of the said deceased and sole executor named in the same testament, to whom administration was granted of all and singular the goods, rights and credits of the said deceased, sworn on the Holy Gospels to well and faithfully administer.]

The Last Will and Testament of John Minterne of Batcombe, Dorset - 1631 (page one of document)

The Last Will and Testament of John Minterne of Batcombe, Dorset – 1631 (page one of document)

John Mynterne - The Last Will and Testament - 6 July 1631 - page 2

The Last Will and Testament of John Minterne of Batcombe, Dorset – 1631 (page two of document)

Leave a Reply

