The Last Will & Testament of Henry Mintern of Hook Gentaleman 4th April 1651

Wills, Administrations and Inventories
of The Mintern Family
of Hook, Chedington and Batcombe, Dorset

Henry Minterne ‘ Farmer of Hooke Manor’ is my 11th Great Grandfather

[Lines as in original document, also spelling and abbreviations]
Transcribed by Trudy Norbury June 16th 2012 (and published with her kind permission)

The Mintern manuscripts is out of copyright, but the compilation, the annotation and the textual, editorial, and introductory matter are the copyright of the editors, whose work should be acknowledged in any quotation or reproduction of this work.

The Last Will & Testament of Henry Mintern of Hook Gentaleman 4th April 1651
Proved in the Prerogative Court 7th February 1651 PROB 11/220

In the name of God Amen I Henry Mintern //
Of Hook in the County of Dorsett Gentleman having by the mercie of God lived to an old
age //
and yet (praised bee god) of perfect memory knowing well that all flesh must dye though
ye certain //
tyme thereof be unknowne to mortall Doe make and declare this my Last Will and
Testament //
in manner and form following Imprimis I commend my soul to God my Father hopeing
in //
and through the merritte of Jesus Christ my Saviour I shall enjoy the happynesse of
eternall life//
and my bodie I committ to earth from where it came as for my wordly estate which God
hath, //
blest mee withall I give and bequeath as follloweth I give unto the poore of Batcombe
tenne //
shillings and unto the poore of Hooke tenne shillings Item I give unto my Sonne John
Minterne//
Fiftie pounds Item I give unto my Sonne Samuell Minterne Five Shillings Item I give //
Unto my Sonne Edward Minterne Five poundes Item I give unot my Sonne Henry
Minterne//
Twenty pounds Item I give unto my Sonne Thomas Minterne Five shillings Item I give //
Unto Mary Samwayes my daughter Five pounds Item I give unto Agnes Minterne //
Daughter of William Minterne deceased my grand child one hundred and twenty pounds
//
in consideration of one hundred markes which was given her by her father William
Minterne//
Deceased and in full satifaction thereof Item I give her more one Feather bedd furnished
One //
Pair of sheetes one table cloath and halfe a dozen of table napkins Item I give unto
Elizabeth //
Minterne daughter of Henrie Minterne Fiftie pounds Item I give Item I give unto Annie
Minterne //
Daughter of the said Henrie Minterne Fiftie pounds Item I give unto William Minterne //
Sonne of William Minterne deceased One hundred pounds a standing Bedsteed a table
board //
A great chaire all of them standing in my Lord Marquesses Chambers Item I give unto
my //
Servant Elizabeth Momfeild Fortie shillings All the rest of my goods and Chattelles not
hereby given // and bequeathed my debts and Legacies payd and my funeral discharged I give unto my
Sonne Paul//
Minterne whome I do hereby nominate constitute and appointe to bee my Executor of
this my Last will //
and Testament And do defire my Two Kinsman Mr1
John Minterne of Batcombe and
Master Walter //
Foy of Bubdown to bee my overseers of this Last Will and Testament desiring them to
bee assistante //
to my said Executor in and aboute the same and for their paynes therein I give unto each
of them a paire //
of Gloves of five Shillings the paire In witnesse hereof I have hereunto sett my hand and
seale the fourth //
day of Aprill
2
one thousand six hundred fiftie one the signe of Henry //
Minterne Signed sealed by the above named Henry Minterne and by him acknowledged
to be his Last //
Will and Testament in the presence of us Robert Bowden John Legg Elizabeth Minterne
the signe //
of Thomas Fooke //

This will was proved att London before the Right Worshipfull Sir Nathaniel Brent Kt3

Doctor .//
Lawes, Maister or Keeper of the Prerogative Court the Seventh day of February In the
year of our //
Lord God one thousand six hundred fiftie and one by the oath of Paule Minterne the
Sonne and Executor //
Named in the said Will to whome administration was committed of all and singular the
goods Chattells //
And Debts of the said deceased which any manner of way is concerne the said Will hee
being sworn by //
Virtue of a Commission in that behalfe well and truely to administer the same// …

1 Mr = abbreviation for Master
2 “In the yeare of our Lord God” is crossed through
3 “Kt” = abbreviation for Knight

 

The Last Will & Testament of Henry Mintern of Hook Gentaleman 4th April 1651

The Last Will & Testament of Henry Mintern of Hook Gentaleman 4th April 1651 – page one of document

The Last Will & Testament of Henry Mintern of Hook Gentaleman 4th  April 1651

The Last Will & Testament of Henry Mintern of Hook Gentaleman 4th April 1651 – page two of document

Leave a Reply

