The last will and testament of Samuel Mintern of Hook, Dorset – 25 December 1850

Wills, Administrations and Inventories
of The Mintern Family
of Hook, Chedington and Batcombe, Dorset

The last will and testament of Samuel Mintern of Hook, Dorset – 25 December 1850

Name: Samuel Mintern
Residence Date: 25 December 1850
Will Written and Published: 25 December 1844
Residence Place: Hook, Dorset
Event Type: Will
Probate Court: Dorset Archdeaconry
Reference Number: Ad/Dt/W/1850
Event Record Number: 17

Page One

In the name of God, Amen. I Samuel Mintern of Hook in the county of Dorset Yeoman, Do make and publish this my last will and testament (this twenty fifth Day of December in the year of our said one thousand and eight hundred and forty four / in manner and form following (vizt) I give devise and bequeath to my two sons James Mintern and Samuel Mintern all that plot of ground called Hart Ground situate at King Combe in the parish of toller porcorum and also all the dwelling houses outhouses and premises together with all and singular my customary copyhold leasehold and lifehold lands and tenements with the appurtenances and all my Estate and interest therein situate lying and being in the manor or Parish of Hook in the said county of Dorset to hold the same for the life of the longest lives of them x as Tenants in common also I give and bequeath unto my said two sons all my live and Dead farming stock Household Goods and Furniture Monies securities for money and all other my personal estate and effects whatsoever or wheresoever and of what nature or kind soever which I shall be called in or any stock or other effects disposed of without their mutual consent and the proceeds as well as all profits arising out of my said lands and premises to be equally divided between them share and share alike. and my will is that the longest lives of them shall be possessed of the whole of my estate monies and securities stock household furniture and all other my personal estate and effects also I give and bequeath to my sons Joseph Mintern and William Mintern the sum of one shilling each I also give and bequeath to my daughters Sarah Walbridge, Ann Seal, and Mary Peach and Elizabeth Pullman the sum of one pound each which I request might be paid them by my two sons James Mintern and Samuel Mintern with six calender months next after my decease. – and I also desire and my will is that my said two sons do live and reside together in the dwelling house I now live and reside in and carry on their trade a calling copartners and I

signed; Samuel Mintern

Page Two

do hereby nomunate constitute and appoint my two sons James Mintern and Samuel Mintern whole and sole executors of this my will and I do declare this and no other to be my last will and testament contained in two sheets of paper to the first which I have subscribed my name and to the second and last sheet my hand and seal.
Signed sealed published and declared as and for the last will and testament of the within named Samuel Mintern who as his request in his presence and in the presence of each other have subscribed our names as witnesses (the word “between” being interlined between the twenty second and twenty third line of the first sheet) and the word “shall” written on an closure……..

Signed; James Oliver / James Gollop / Frederick Oliver

Signed & Sealed; Samuel Mintern

(transcribed by; Stephen Dawe-Kuta – 12 June 2014)

The Mintern manuscripts is out of copyright, but the compilation, the annotation and the textual, editorial, and introductory matter are the copyright of the editors, whose work should be acknowledged in any quotation or reproduction of this work.

The last will and testament of Samuel Mintern of Hook, Dorset - 25 December 1850. page one of document

The last will and testament of Samuel Mintern of Hook, Dorset – 25 December 1850.
page one of document

Will of Samuel Minton - 25 December 1850 - page2

The last will and testament of Samuel Mintern of Hook, Dorset – 25 December 1850. page two of document

Leave a Reply

