My Descent from the House of Plantagenet

 

I have been lucky enough to find a few gateway ancestors into my medieval ancestry and I really wanted to showcase this hard work in a chart . This family tree took me about 3 weeks to put together In Photoshop, (and it’s a very big file, I’m surprised it didn’t crash my computer) I still need to get it printed yet, which I hope to do once I have added a little more information to it.

My Descent from William the Conquerer

My Descent from William the Conquerer

3 thoughts on “My Descent from the House of Plantagenet

    • As long as you can find a gateway ancestor, then you can pretty much go back to the Dark Ages with pedigrees recorded and dating back centuries. That’s the hardest bit finding a connection but most medieval history has already been researched and recorded. It took me about 15 years though to find a connection though and since then I have found links into this long forgotten past through 3 of my grandparents.
      the further back you go the more likely are your chances, keep a look out for specific surnames, clergy, yeoman.

      • Much harder with Jews since most did not adopt surnames until the late 18th century or early 19th century and also because there weren’t the same kinds of records kept back in the shtetls as there were in churches. I doubt I will ever get much before the 18th century, but I will keep digging!

Leave a Reply

