Sophia Mayhew

Sophia Mayhew
1804 – 1840
(4x great grandmother)

my relationship to Sophia Mayhew
Sophia MAYHEW (1779 – 1817)
is my 5th great grandmother

Sophia MAYHEW (1804 – 1840)
daughter of Sophia MAYHEW and my 4th great grandmother

Lydia MUMFORD (1828 – 1888)
daughter of Sophia MAYHEW and my 3rd great grandmother

Mary Ann MUMFORD (1853 – 1916)
daughter of Lydia MUMFORD and my 2nd great grandmother

Ernest James JANES (1888 – 1942)
son of Mary Ann MUMFORD and my great grandfather

Rosie May JANES (1930 – 1997)
daughter of Ernest James JANES and my grandmother

Sophia Mayhew
Ancestry of Sophia Mayhew

A couple of months back I posted an article here on WordPress about my search for Sophia Mayhew, since then I have had some big break throughs and found some interesting branches with family names I am very eager to research further.

Originally the only information I had about Sophia Mayhew was that she was living in Bocking, Essex worked as a silkwinder had one illegitimate daughter’ Lydia Mumford and passed away on 21 October 1840 in Church Street, Bocking, Essex from consumption at a very young age, she was 36 years old (same age I am now).
So the only lead I had was that Sophia was born between 1804-1805, I spent many weeks searching for her baptism in the Essex parish records but sadly always met with a dead end. Then by chance I came across another Mayhew living in Bocking some twenty years later, he was born in the parish of Bedingfield, Suffolk and had a daughter by the name of Sophia Mayhew. So I decided to look into this new lead in the hope that he was a relation of my Sophia.

Almost immediately I found a Bastardy Order referenced on the Suffok Records Office data base for an illegitimate daughter born in 1804 of James Rager of Bedingfield, Suffolk and a Sophia Mayhew of Occuld, Suffolk.

IRO_FB133_G7_2
Bastardy order for the daughter of James Rager and Sophia Mayhew

I had finally found the link I was looking for and have since researched her ancestry much further. Ironically Sophia Mayhew’s mother also Sophia Mayhew died at very young age too, she was 38 years old and passed away on the 19 May 1817.

After the birth of her illegitimate daughter in 1804 she went onto marry Zackariah Gooderham of Oakley, Suffolk in 1808 and had five children by him. She died from child birth and probably never got to hold her last daughter’ this daughter was named Sophia Gooderham and she was baptized the same day that her mother had died.

Because her last daughter too was named Sophia’ it does make me wonder if she cared for Sophia herself or if James Rager’s family were left responsible for her upbringing, there a couple of hints that make me believe this to be true, his granddaughter born in 1828 was named Lydia Mumford (illegitimate) and one of James Rager’s sister’s were named Lydia Rager and his grandmother was Lydy Parr, a family name I am keen on researching.

James Rager’s ancestors look very interesting; his grandmother Lydy Parr was married into the Burlingham family who descend from a notable Norfolk family with links to the ‘Howards’, but sadly due to a lack of resources online for both Suffolk and Norfolk I may need to visit there local records office’s to further this research.

I’m looking forward to seeing where this research takes me.

4 thoughts on “Sophia Mayhew

    • Thank you Amy, I still have a lot of work to do on that branch of my tree. Although to be honest, I never thought I would find any information at all due to the
      illegitimacy, so I was very happy with my break through.

  1. Reading about your family research breakthroughs is very interesting. I have had number of those moments too while working on my own research. I know it can take hours, days,weeks, or more to find a new family link or breakthrough. I wish you well in furthering your research.

    • Thank you, family history is a huge passion of mine, I often go to bed and my mind is overloaded (that’s not good) but I know what I want to achieve and even though many more brick walls will come my way, I will keep going until I reach a point in my research that I am happy with. good luck with your own research too and chat soon.

Leave a Reply

