Will our Facebook, Twitter, WordPress pages still exist long after we have died

Family history is one of my favourite past times and because of my interest in the subject I am scrupulous with all my family documents and photographs. I keep everything historically important carefully arranged, labelled and indexed not only relating to the lives of my ancestors but also relating to my own life and that of my close family.
So when the time comes and I move across to a better existence my family will hopefully know what is important whilst rummaging through my belongings.
My interest has also made me care less about the material things in life and more so for my photographs and the stories that belong in my family, not only those relating to my ancestors but also those directly connected to the here and now.
Recording our own stories and those of our closest family members is very important, but what is the best way to do this to ensure longevity?

What about the Internet? What activity in the virtual world will stand the test of time?

Will our Facebook pages still exist in 100 years, long after we have departed,

Will our twitter posts still exist?
Our You tube videos, our online family trees, what about WordPress, will our blogs still be here 100 – 200 years after we have died?

I would love to know what everyone thinks and perhaps you know the answer?

8 thoughts on “Will our Facebook, Twitter, WordPress pages still exist long after we have died

  1. It’s funny—we both want to preserve our work for the future, but this is a real concern. I also keep everything on my computer—but who says that will last? I do think about writing it all up in book form and self-publishing if no one else will publish it. And I do find comfort in knowing that if paper records from centuries ago are still in existence, there will also be a way that everything we are doing will also be preserved.

    • Self publishing is definitely the answer, you can buy ISBN numbers I think in sets of ten, once you have these you can use on any book you choose to publish, you can even add it to a photo book. I live in England, so I would need to record all details of my publication with the British Library and also submit a copy to them for archiving, I will also be expected to archive copies in a few universities including Oxford.
      The publication will remain in the British Library forever and would be fully searchable online and viewed if you were to visit the library.
      This is my plan over the next ten years or so and a good way to ensure that my heritage and hard work isn’t lost, damaged or thrown away by a careless descendant.

  2. I suppose the equivalent here is the Library of Congress. To register a copyright, I would have to deposit a copy with the Library of Congress. If I ever pull off compiling all my information into book form, that is what I will do as well. Good luck!

  3. I must agree that publishing is the way to go. Then get the books to where they may be used. Family of course. But don’t overlook libraries, historical societies, and other such places in areas where your family lived.

    • Depositing our records/publications with family history societies is a very good idea. Something I have not thought much off although I have seen and viewed personal family records archived with record centres and I imagine it’s the best place to keep such records because everyone can access them.

  4. I agree with the depositing in libraries and historical societies. I personally have found family history information from local history books in libraries. I would also say try archives or museums that have libraries if there is a family connection. I know i’ve found some amazing family history photos and 100 plus yrs family heirloom at a local musuem.

Leave a Reply

