My 3x grt grandfather Frank Bean helped excavate the Metropolitan Railway

Frank Bean
1825 – 1888

3rd great grandfather
Excavator of the London Underground

Metropolitian_Railway_%281873%29

The Metropolitan Railway in 1873, ten years after opening. Also shown is the Metropolitan and St John’s Wood Railway from Baker Street to Swiss Cottage that was operated by the Metropolitan Railway.

I’m planning a little trip into London tomorrow, taking my little girl Yhana to the Science and Natural History Museums. This got me thinking about my 3x great grandfather Frank Bean who helped excavate those tunnels in the 1860’s. Every time I arrive at Baker Street station I always think about him.

 Frank was born in Harrow on the Hill and spent most of his life there, he helped excavate the worlds first underground and spent almost ten years of his life beneath the city of London.

 c8a8480f-6698-4ec5-96ca-77a4a51a6f9c

During the 1860-70’s – Frank Bean worked as an excavator on the Metroploiton Line

One thought on “My 3x grt grandfather Frank Bean helped excavate the Metropolitan Railway

Leave a Reply

